TO ENSURE WE ARE DELIVERING YOU THE APPROPRIATE CONTENT, PLEASE CONFIRM:
The following content is restricted for healthcare professionals only.
You will be redirected.
The following content is restricted for consumers only.
You will be redirected.

Nutritional
STRATEGIES

nutritional-strategies

As a parent, you want to provide the best nutrition for your child.


Children with cerebral palsy may have specific nutrition needs that require special care, depending on their ability and feeding needs. Nestlé Health Science is here to help you with answers to your questions and to provide helpful resources.


For further information, check out the section related to feeding difficulties.


Knowing how and what to feed your child is a learning process; but, before you know it, it will become a part of your routine. 


Usually, following diagnosis, you will discuss your child’s nutrition needs and plans with your doctor or dietitian. Together with your healthcare professional, you will identify the most appropriate nutrition solutions for your child.


If you have any questions or doubts, talk to your doctor. It is important that you fully understand the reason why your child needs special nutrition support and how to make things work.


Before trying something new or changing your child’s feeding routine, check with your healthcare professionals. They will guide you and help you adapt according to your child’s specific needs.


In the following sections, you will get familiar with possible nutrition strategies or solutions for children with CP.

Thickeners can be a solution


Children with cerebral palsy (CP) who have dysphagia may have difficulty swallowing thin liquids. Drinks and other liquids may need to be thickened so they are more easily managed in the mouth and throat. Thickened beverages move more slowly and are often easier to handle in the mouth than thin liquids. This gives more time to close off the airway so the liquids can travel down the esophagus to the stomach.

Juices, milk and soups are examples of liquids that can be thickened. Your healthcare professional will recommend the amount of thickener needed to get the desired consistency for your child’s swallowing needs.

A speech-language pathologist, occupational therapist or dietitian can help determine the most appropriate consistency for your child.


→CLICK HERE TO WATCH THE FULL VIDEO IN OUR REAL STORIES SECTION

 

Oral nutrition supplements can be added to improve your child’s diet


There are times when the food you give your child may not be enough to meet his or her needs. Therefore, your healthcare professional may recommend oral nutrition supplements to ensure adequate nutrition for your child. If your child can take food and fluid by mouth, there are nutrition products available in different formats and flavours that can be a great solution to add energy and protein to his or her diet. If you notice that your child is losing weight, or their behaviour towards food has changed, talk to your healthcare professional.


→CLICK HERE TO WATCH THE FULL VIDEO IN OUR REAL STORIES SECTION

Tube feeding is a way of getting liquid nutrition through a tube.

Your child may need a tube feeding if he or she:

  • Cannot get enough nutrition by eating or drinking by mouth; or
  • Has difficulty chewing or swallowing easily or safely

To help make sure your child gets the nutrition and fluids he or she needs, your healthcare professional may suggest a tube feeding, either on its own or added to your child’s daily food and drink intake.

Tube feeding can help your child grow and develop. It is another way for your child to get the nutrition they need. With a feeding tube in place, your child can still take part in family activities like mealtimes. Having the support of your family and friends may make your child’s home tube feeding a more comfortable experience.

It is common for parents to have many questions about tube feeding, but once they see the benefits, many wish they had started sooner.


There are different locations and routes through which a feeding tube can be placed.


tube feeding diagram


“ You can actually feed anywhere, anytime"

Suzanne, Nathan’s mum

→CLICK HERE TO WATCH THE FULL VIDEO IN OUR REAL STORIES SECTION


Below is a brief summary of the different tube feeding routes:


Tube feeding through the nose

NASOGASTRIC OR ‘NG-TUBE’:

The feeding tube goes through the nose, down the esophagus or food tube, and ends in the stomach.


NASOJEJUNAL OR ‘NJ-TUBE’:

The feeding tube goes through the nose, down the esophagus or food tube, continues through the stomach, and ends in the small intestine.


Tube feeding through the stomach

GASTROSTOMY OR ‘G-TUBE’:

The feeding tube goes through a small opening in the skin directly into the stomach.


JEJUNOSTOMY OR ‘J-TUBE’:

The feeding tube goes through a small opening in the skin into the jejunum or small intestine.

Tube feeding can be a safe and reliable form of feeding that allows you to track the amount of food and liquids your child is receiving.

 

“ It’s much tidier than people think"

Mariam, Yehoshua’s mum

→Click on this link to watch the full video in our real stories section

There are different ways to deliver tube feedings and different types of feeding schedules, depending upon what your healthcare professional has prescribed for your child.

Nutrition can be delivered continuously or given at meal times with breaks during the day (intermittent nutrition).

Continuous nutrition can be done by gravity or using a pump.

  1. By gravity: A bag filled with formula or the pack of the formula hangs above the child to let the formula drip down into the tube and then into stomach. Roller clamps can be used to control the rate of flow.

    gravity

  2. Pump Feeding: A feeding pump can be programmed to run at whatever times and feeding rates required to deliver feedings. Make sure your healthcare professional demonstrates how to use the pump before you go home.

    pump

Intermittent nutrition can be done by gravity, using a pump or using a syringe.

  1. Intermittent feeding is a type of tube feeding that provides a certain amount of formula over a short amount of time (usually 30-60 minutes), and is typically provided several times per day. 
  2. With a syringe: formula is poured into the syringe, then the plunger is used to push the food directly into the feeding tube.

    syringe.png

It may be difficult to understand at first, but as you gain more experience, tube feeding can and will become easier. Even though your child is being tube fed, being included in family mealtimes and social events that involve food is just as important for your child as it is for you and your family. Speaking about tube feeding with your child will help alleviate any confusion and will allow your child to feel more reassured and comfortable during mealtimes.

There is also a wide range of formulas for your healthcare professional to choose from.

Formulas are developed to meet a child’s specific needs, including energy content, fibre content, as well as vitamin and mineral content.

Click on the Types Of Formulas section to better understand the different types of formulas available.

As you continue to tube feed your child at home, it’s natural to have questions, or to need some help. Your child's healthcare team can help you answer questions such as:

  • What can I expect from the tube feeding experience and the different tube feeding options available?
  • What type of equipment is needed and how do I set it up?
  • How do I know if my child is getting enough nutrition?
  • How do I know my child is having feeding intolerance?

Mealtime is an important opportunity for socializing, and a part of life that children should be involved in and enjoy from an early age. Even though your child is being tube fed, being included in family mealtime and social events that involve food is just as important for your child as it is for you and your family. Work with your healthcare professional to find a feeding schedule that works for you and your family.

For more information on tube feeding instructions, formulas, and more, visit: mytubefeeding.ca

→CLICK HERE TO BETTER UNDERSTAND THE DIFFERENT TYPES OF FORMULAS AVAILABLE FOR FEEDING

 

Which formulas are available?

A variety of formulas are available for your child. Tube feeding formulas provide the nutrients needed to support a child’s growth and development, in the form and amount that your child can tolerate. Your healthcare professional will consider your child’s nutrition requirements, feeding schedule, and your lifestyle when recommending a formula.

Tube feeding formulas are considered complete nutrition because they contain protein, carbohydrates, fat, vitamins, minerals, and water to support your child’s growth, development, and special nutrition needs.

Ask your healthcare professional about which formula is best for your child.

Here are some examples of different types of formulas:


Standard Formulas

Standard pediatric formulas are nutritionally complete and are designed for children ages 1 to 13 who have normal digestion. Some of these formulas can be used for both tube feeding and oral feeding, and some contain fibre.

There are also pediatric formulas available which contain real food ingredients such as chicken, vegetables and fruit along with added vitamins and minerals to create a nutritionally complete formula.


Semi-Elemental/Peptide-Based Formulas

Like standard formulas, semi-elemental formulas are nutritionally complete. Semi-elemental formulas are different because they contain some nutrients, like protein and fat, which are ‘broken down’ into smaller units to make them easier to digest. This is the reason these formulas are also called “peptide-based” formulas – because “peptides” is the name used to describe smaller units of protein. Some semi-elemental/peptide-based formulas can also be used for both tube feeding and oral feeding, and some contain fibre.


Specialized Formulas

Specialized formulas are available for children with particular needs such as Crohn’s disease, multiple food allergies, sensitivities or intolerances; or those with severe issues digesting fat and protein.


Modular Products

Modular products are individual nutrients that may be added to formula for children who require additional nutrition. Modular products provide extra protein, fat or calories without adding much volume to the formula itself. If modulars are needed, your healthcare professional will teach you how to use them and provide a recipe if needed.


Blenderized tube feeding

Homemade tube feedings are often referred to as blenderized diets, blended diets, or pureed foods for tube feeding diets. Blenderized tube feeding is becoming more popular as parents and caregivers want to include real food in the diet of their children on tube feedings. Many parents feel this may be healthier choice or a way to manage food intolerances.1

Homemade tube feedings are prepared by blending foods and fluids in a high-speed blender to liquify them so they will flow through a feeding tube.

Blending foods at home takes planning and time as well as safe food handling practices. If blending food at home does not work for you, there are commercially available tube feeding formulas that contain real food that may be a great fit for you and your child.


For more information, or before starting or switching to a homemade blended formula, consult with your healthcare professional to make sure blenderized tube feeding is right for your child.


You may find hearing stories of how other families live with CP helpful.

→CLICK HERE TO CHECK OUT SOME REAL STORIES WE HAVE COMPILED FROM CAREGIVERS OF CP CHILDREN

 

References:

  1. Epp L et al. Nutr Clin Pract. 2017;32(2):201-205; Fessler TA. Today’s Dietitian. 2015;17(1):30-33. 10.

AFIN QUE NOUS PUISSIONS VOUS OFFRIR UN CONTENU ADÉQUAT, VEUILLEZ CONFIRMER:
Vous allez être dirigé vers votre espace.
Ce contenu n'est accessible qu'aux professionnels de santé.
Vous allez être dirigé vers votre espace.

nutritional-strategies

Nutrition
Difficultés d’alimentation

En tant que parent, vous voulez offrir à votre enfant la meilleure alimentation qui soit.

Les enfants atteints de paralysie cérébrale peuvent avoir des besoins nutritionnels précis qui, selon les habiletés de l’enfant et ses besoins alimentaires, peuvent nécessiter des mesures particulières.

Nestlé Health Science est ici pour vous aider à trouver des réponses à vos questions et vous proposer des ressources utiles.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter la section portant sur les difficultés d’alimentation.

Savoir comment nourrir son enfant et quels aliments lui donner est un processus d’apprentissage; mais, en très peu de temps, vous saurez intégrer les changements requis dans votre routine.

Après le diagnostic, vous discuterez habituellement avec votre médecin ou une diététiste des besoins nutritionnels de votre enfant et des plans pour y satisfaire. En collaboration avec votre professionnel de la santé, vous déterminerez la solution nutritionnelle qui saura le mieux convenir à votre enfant.

Si vous avez des questions ou des doutes, parlez-en à votre médecin. Il est important que vous compreniez bien les raisons pour lesquelles votre enfant a besoin d’un soutien particulier sur le plan nutritionnel et comment lui apporter ce soutien.

Avant d’essayer de nouveaux aliments ou de modifier la routine de votre enfant, discutez-en avec vos professionnels de la santé. Ils vous guideront et aideront à vous adapter aux besoins particuliers de votre enfant.

Dans les sections qui suivent, vous vous familiariserez avec les stratégies ou solutions nutritionnelles possibles pour les enfants atteints de PC.

Les agents épaississants peuvent être une solution


Les enfants atteints de paralysie cérébrale (PC) qui présentent une dysphagie peuvent avoir de la difficulté à avaler des liquides clairs. Les boissons et autres liquides peuvent devoir être épaissis de façon à ce qu’ils coulent plus facilement dans la bouche et la gorge. Les boissons épaissies se déplacent plus lentement et sont souvent plus faciles à avaler que les liquides clairs. Cela laisse donc plus de temps aux voies respiratoires pour se fermer afin que les liquides puissent descendre par l’oesophage vers l’estomac.

Les jus, le lait et les soupes sont quelques exemples de liquides qui peuvent être épaissis. Votre professionnel de la santé vous recommandera la quantité d’épaississant à utiliser pour obtenir la consistance voulue selon la difficulté qu’a votre enfant à avaler.

Un orthophoniste, un ergothérapeute ou un diététiste déterminera la consistance qui convient le mieux pour votre enfant.


→CLIQUEZ ICI POUR VISIONNER LES VIDÉOS COMPLÈTES DANS NOTRE SECTION SUR DES HISTOIRES VRAIES

 

Des suppléments nutritionnels oraux peuvent être ajoutés pour bonifier le régime alimentaire de votre enfant


Il arrive parfois que les aliments que vous donnez à votre enfant ne soient suffisants pour répondre à ses besoins. Le cas échéant, votre professionnel de la santé pourrait vous recommander des suppléments nutritionnels oraux afin que votre enfant ait un apport nutritionnel adéquat. Si votre enfant peut manger et boire par la bouche, il existe sur le marché des produits nutritionnels offerts dans différents formats et différentes saveurs qui constituent une excellente solution pour accroître la valeur énergétique et la teneur en protéines de son alimentation. Si vous remarquez que votre enfant perd du poids, ou que son comportement à l’égard des aliments a changé, parlez-en à votre professionnel de la santé.


→CLIQUEZ ICI POUR VISIONNER LES VIDÉOS COMPLÈTES DANS NOTRE SECTION SUR DES HISTOIRES VRAIES

L’alimentation entérale est un moyen d’administrer des aliments liquides à l’aide d’un tube.

Votre enfant pourrait avoir besoin d’une alimentation entérale:

  • s’il lui est impossible de manger et de boire suffisamment par voie orale pour se nourrir adéquatement;
  • s’il a de la difficulté à mastiquer ou à avaler facilement ou sans danger

Afin de s’assurer que votre enfant consomme les aliments et liquides dont il a besoin, votre professionnel de la santé pourrait vous suggérer l’alimentation entérale, comme unique méthode d’alimentation ou en complément à son apport quotidien en aliments et en boissons.

L’alimentation entérale peut aider votre enfant à grandir et à se développer. C’est un autre moyen de lui assurer l’apport nutritionnel dont il a besoin. Votre enfant peut continuer de participer aux activités en famille, comme les repas, même s’il porte une sonde. L’alimentation entérale de votre enfant peut être une expérience plus agréable pour votre enfant s’il bénéficie du soutien des membres de la famille et des amis.

Il est normal que les parents se posent beaucoup de questions sur l’alimentation entérale; cependant, lorsqu’ils sont en mesure d’en observer les bienfaits, nombreux sont ceux qui auraient aimé l’avoir adoptée plus tôt.

La sonde peut être placée à différents endroits dans l’organisme et différentes voies peuvent être utilisées pour son insertion.


tube feeding diagram
«Vous pouvez nourrir votre enfant n’importe où, n’importe quand.»

- Suzanne, mère de Nathan

→CLIQUEZ ICI POUR VISIONNER LES VIDÉOS COMPLÈTES DANS NOTRE SECTION SUR DES HISTOIRES VRAIES



Vous trouverez ci-après un bref résumé des différentes voies d’alimentation entérale:

Alimentation entérale par le nez

SONDE NASOGASTRIQUE OU «SONDE NG»:

La sonde est insérée dans une narine et passe par l’oesophage pour rejoindre l’estomac.

SONDE NASOJÉJUNALE OU «SONDE NJ»:

La sonde est insérée dans une narine, passe par l’oesophage, puis par l’estomac pour rejoindre l’intestin grêle.

Ce mode d’alimentation pourrait vous paraître inhabituel au départ mais, avec le temps et l’expérience, vous aurez l’assurance que votre enfant reçoit la bonne quantité d’éléments nutritifs et qu’il maintient un poids santé. Il vous permettra également de réduire considérablement la durée des repas, éliminant ainsi une partie du stress et de la frustration. Vous aurez donc plus de temps pour d’autres activités quotidiennes avec votre enfant.

Alimentation entérale par l’estomac

SONDE DE GASTROSTOMIE (G) OU «SONDE G»:

La sonde est introduite directement dans l’estomac par une petite ouverture pratiquée dans la peau.

SONDE DE JÉJUNOSTOMIE OU «SONDE J»:

La sonde est introduite directement dans le jéjunum, ou intestin grêle, par une petite ouverture pratiquée dans la peau.

L’alimentation entérale peut être une méthode d’alimentation sûre et fiable qui vous permet de suivre la quantité d’aliments solides et liquides ingérée par votre enfant.

«C’est beaucoup plus propre qu’on le pense.»

- Miriam, mère de Yehoshua

  1. Alimentation par gravité: Un sac contenant la préparation, ou l’emballage de la préparation, est suspendu au-dessus de l’enfant afin que la préparation s’écoule dans le tube puis dans l’estomac. Une pince à roulette peut être utilisée pour contrôler le débit d’alimentation.

    gravity

  2. Alimentation à l’aide d’une pompe: La pompe d’alimentation peut être programmée de manière à ce que l’alimentation se fasse à un moment et à un débit précis. Assurez-vous que le professionnel de la santé vous fasse une démonstration du fonctionnement de la pompe avant votre départ pour la maison.

    pump

L’alimentation intermittente peut se faire par gravité ou à l’aide d’une pompe ou d’une seringue.

  1. L’alimentation intermittente est un type d’alimentation entérale qui consiste à administrer une certaine quantité de préparation en un court laps de temps (d’ordinaire sur une période de 30 à 60 minutes), habituellement plusieurs fois par jour.
  2. Alimentation par seringue: La préparation est versée dans la seringue, puis elle est introduite directement dans le tube en appuyant sur le piston de la seringue.

    syringe.png

L’alimentation entérale peut être difficile à comprendre au début, mais les choses peuvent devenir, et deviendront, plus faciles à mesure que vous prendrez de l’expérience. Même si votre enfant est nourri par alimentation entérale, il est tout aussi important pour lui de ne pas se sentir exclu lors des repas et autres activités sociales où l’on sert de la nourriture que ce l’est pour vous et les autres membres de la famille. Le fait de parler de l’alimentation entérale avec votre enfant aidera à dissiper la confusion et permettra à votre enfant d’être rassuré et plus à l’aise durant les repas. Il existe une vaste gamme de préparations parmi lesquelles votre professionnel de la santé pourra choisir.

Les diverses préparations sont conçues pour satisfaire à des besoins précis de l’enfant, notamment quant à l’apport énergétique et à la teneur en fibres, en vitamines et en minéraux.

Cliquez sur la section portant sur les types de préparations pour en savoir davantage sur les différents types de préparations offertes.

Il est normal que d’autres questions surgissent lorsque vous poursuivrez l’alimentation entérale de votre enfant à la maison, ou que vous ayez besoin d’aide. L’équipe soignante de votre enfant peut vous aider à répondre à des questions du genre:

  • À quoi dois-je m’attendre durant l’alimentation entérale et quelles sont les différentes méthodes d’alimentation entérale disponibles?
  • Quel type d’équipement dois-je utiliser et comment dois-je l’installer?
  • Comment savoir si mon enfant reçoit un apport alimentaire suffisant?
  • Comment savoir si mon enfant présente une intolérance à l’alimentation entérale?

Les repas sont d’importantes occasions de socialiser et des moments de vie que les enfants devraient apprécier et auxquels ils devraient pouvoir participer dès leur jeune âge. Même si votre enfant est nourri par alimentation entérale, il est tout aussi important pour lui de ne pas se sentir exclu lors des repas et autres activités sociales où l’on sert de la nourriture que ce l’est pour vous et les autres membres de la famille. Parlez à votre professionnel de la santé pour établir un horaire d’alimentation qui vous conviendra, à vous et à votre famille.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les marches à suivre et les différentes préparations pour l’alimentation entérale et d’autres sujets, visitez le site:
www.nestlehealthscience.ca/fr/mytubefeedingpediatric

→CLIQUEZ ICI POUR MIEUX COMPRENDRE LES DIFFÉRENTS TYPES DE PRÉPARATIONS POUR L’ALIMENTATION ENTÉRALE

Quelles sont les préparations disponibles?

Il existe une vaste gamme de préparations pour votre enfant. Les préparations pour l’alimentation entérale procurent les éléments nutritifs dont votre enfant a besoin pour grandir et se développer, sous une forme et dans une quantité que votre enfant pourra tolérer. Votre professionnel de la santé tiendra compte des besoins nutritionnels de votre enfant, de l’horaire des repas et de votre mode de vie au moment de recommander une préparation.

Les préparations pour l’alimentation entérale sont considérées comme des aliments complets sur le plan nutritionnel, car elles contiennent des protéines, des glucides, des lipides, des vitamines, des minéraux et de l’eau pour favoriser la croissance et le développement de votre enfant et répondre à ses besoins nutritionnels particuliers.

Demandez à votre professionnel de la santé quelle préparation convient le mieux à votre enfant.

Voici quelques exemples des différents types de préparations qui sont offertes:


Préparations standard

Les préparations pédiatriques standard sont complètes sur le plan nutritionnel et formulées pour les enfants âgés entre 1 an et 13 ans ayant une digestion normale. Certaines de ces préparations conviennent à l’alimentation par voie orale et entérale. Certaines contiennent également des fibres.

Il existe aussi des préparations pédiatriques qui contiennent de vrais aliments, comme du poulet, des légumes et des fruits auxquels sont ajoutés des vitamines et minéraux pour créer une préparation nutritive complète.


Préparations semi-élémentaires/à base de peptides

Comme les préparations standard, les préparations semi-élémentaires sont des préparations complètes sur le plan nutritionnel. Elles sont toutefois différentes car certains des éléments nutritifs qu’elles contiennent, comme les protéines et les lipides, ont été réduits en particules plus petites pour les rendre plus faciles à digérer. C’est pourquoi l’on parle également de «préparations à base de peptides». Le terme «peptides» désigne les petites particules de protéines. Certaines préparations semi-élémentaires/à base de peptides conviennent également à l’alimentation par voie entérale ou orale et certaines contiennent des fibres.


Préparations spécialisées

Il existe des préparations spécialisées formulées pour répondre aux besoins particuliers de certains enfants, comme ceux atteints de la maladie de Crohn ou d’allergies, de sensibilités ou d’intolérances alimentaires multiples ou ayant de graves difficultés à digérer les lipides et les protéines.


Produits modulaires

Les produits modulaires sont des nutriments individuels pouvant être ajoutés à la préparation d’un enfant ayant des besoins supplémentaires à combler sur le plan nutritionnel. Les produits modulaires enrichissent le produit en protéines ou en lipides ou sur le plan calorique, sans augmenter le volume de la préparation en soi. Si des produits modulaires sont indiqués, votre professionnel de la santé vous montrera comment les utiliser et vous fournira une recette au besoin.


Préparations entérales passées au mélangeur

Les préparations entérales maison sont souvent désignées préparations passées au mélangeur ou aliments mélangés ou réduits en purée. Les préparations entérales passées au mélangeur gagnent en popularité, car les parents et soignants veulent inclure de vrais aliments dans le régime alimentaire de leurs enfants nourris par voie entérale. De nombreux parents croient en outre que ces préparations constituent de meilleurs choix santé ou qu’elles offrent un moyen de gérer les intolérances alimentaires1.

Les préparations maison pour alimentation entérale sont préparées en mélangeant des aliments et des liquides dans un mélangeur à haute vitesse pour liquéfier les aliments afin qu’ils puissent couler dans la sonde.

Cependant, la préparation d’aliments à la maison requiert du temps et de la préparation, de même que l’utilisation de techniques sécuritaires de manipulation des aliments. Si les préparations maison ne sont pas pour vous, il existe sur le marché des préparations pour alimentation entérale faites à partir de vrais aliments qui pourraient vous convenir parfaitement, à vous et à votre enfant.

Pour plus de renseignements à ce sujet, ou avant de commencer à utiliser des préparations maison pour alimentation entérale ou de passer à ces dernières, discutez-en avec le professionnel de la santé de votre enfant pour vous assurer qu’elles lui conviennent.


Vous pourriez trouver utile de lire le récit d’autres familles qui vivent avec la PC.

→CLIQUEZ ICI POUR CONSULTER DES HISTOIRES VÉCUES QUE NOUS AVONS RECUEILLIES AUPRÈS DE SOIGNANTS D’ENFANTS ATTEINTS DE PC

Références:

  1. Epp L et coll. Nutr Clin Pract. 2017;32(2):201-205; Fessler TA. Today’s Dietitian. 2015;17(1):30-33. 10.