MyTubeFeeding.ca | Nutrition and Tube Feeding Formulas

Nutrition & Tube
Feeding Formulas

Importance of good nutrition
Types of formulas
Formula packaging and hang time
Storing your formula at home

Nutrition and tube feeding formulas

Tube feeding is a way of providing nutrition to a child who cannot eat and drink enough by mouth. There is a wide range of tube feeding formulas available to provide the nutrition your child’s body needs. Learn more about nutrition and tube feeding formulas.

If my child is on a feeding tube, can she still drink or eat by mouth?
Taking foods or fluids by mouth while receiving nutrition from a tube feeding may be possible and may help your child to learn the skills needed to eat and drink at a later time. Always speak to your healthcare provider before giving any food or fluid to your child by mouth to be sure it is safe.

Importance of Good Nutrition

The goal of providing nutrition to a child is to support growth and development. This may come from food or fluid taken by mouth, a tube feeding or sometimes both. A healthy diet is more than just “food” – it provides fuel as well as the building blocks to keep or restore health and to help with healing.

Maintaining a healthy diet and good nutrition is important for everyone, but is crucial to the child who has an illness, is receiving certain medical treatments, is recovering from surgery, or who is not gaining weight and growing like other children the same age. A child’s body may be working extra hard to restore good health, and this may increase his or her nutrient needs. Some children may also have special needs such as digestive problems or food allergies that affect their food or formula choices. Your healthcare professional will consider all of these factors when deciding the type of formula and amount needed each day. Good nutrition is important to support your child’s needs. The nutrients needed by the body include:

  • carbohydrates
  • fat
  • protein
  • vitamins
  • minerals
  • water

These nutrients work together to maintain and build body tissue and provide energy for your child’s body. Normally, these nutrients are provided by eating a variety of foods. However, because of your child’s special needs, he or she is getting their nutrition in a liquid form through a tube.

There are many ways to make sure your child is getting the right types and amounts of nutrients, including:

  • Growth charts – tracking weight and height for your child over time
  • Blood tests – to see blood levels of certain factors like iron, proteins or blood glucose
  • Checking skin, bones, hair and teeth for overall health and development

Your healthcare team will set up a care plan to monitor how your child is doing with their tube feeding, including tracking his or her weight and height to make sure the nutrition in the tube feeding is supporting your child’s growth and overall needs.


Types of formulas for children 1 to 13 years of age

There is a wide range of tube feeding formulas which may come in different types of packaging. Your child’s healthcare professional will consider his or her unique needs when choosing a formula – this includes not only your child’s nutrition needs but also the feeding method you are using at home. Similar products in the same categories below are available for adults and may be recommended for children over 13 years of age.

Standard Formulas

Standard pediatric formulas are nutritionally complete and are designed for children ages 1 to 13 who have normal digestion. Some of these formulas can be used for both tube feeding and oral feeding, and some contain additional ingredients, such as fibre.

There are also pediatric formulas available which contain real food ingredients such as chicken, vegetables and fruit along with other vitamins and minerals to create a nutritionally complete formula.

Nutren® Junior, Resource® Kid Essentials 1.5 and Compleat® Pediatric are examples of standard formulas.


Semi-elemental/Peptide-based Formulas

Like standard formulas, semi-elemental formulas are nutritionally complete. Semi-elemental formulas are different because they contain some nutrients, like protein and fat, which are ‘broken down’ into smaller units to make them easier to digest. This is the reason these formulas are also called “peptide-based” formulas – because “peptides” is the name used to describe smaller units of protein. Some semi-elemental/peptide-based formulas can also be used for both tube feeding and oral feeding, and some contain ingredients, such as fibre.

Peptamen® Junior is an example of a semi-elemental/peptide-based formula.

Specialized Formulas

Specialized formulas are available for children with particular needs such as Crohn’s disease, multiple food allergies, or those with severe issues digesting fat and protein.

Modulen® IBD and Vivonex® Pediatric® are examples of specialized formulas.

Modular Products

Modular products are individual nutrients that may be added to formula for children who require additional nutrition. Modular products provide extra protein, fat or calories without adding much volume to the formula itself. If modulars are needed, your healthcare professional will teach you how to use them and provide a recipe if needed.

Microlipid, MCT Oil and Beneprotein are examples of modular products.


Formula packaging and hang time

Formula Packaging

Tube feeding formulas come in different types of packages:

  • Ready-to-use liquids in ‘drink box’ packaging, bottles, or cans
  • Powder in a can or small packet that is prepared by mixing with water

All of these formulas are fed using either a syringe or container that the formula is poured into before feeding.

FORMULA HANG TIME

The term “formula hang time” refers to how long a tube feeding formula should remain at room temperature for feeding – after the formula package has been opened or the original package seal has been broken. The following are commonly suggested hang times:

  • Up to 8 hours* for ready-to-use liquids
  • Up to 4 hours* for powders or formulas that have been mixed with water or other modular products

*Important Note:
Always check with your healthcare professional about the formula hang time for your child’s tube feeding formula. A shorter open-time may be recommended for your child, depending on his/her medical condition.

Do I need to refrigerate my child’s formula before opening?
No. Most often, tube feeding formula is stored and used at room temperature.

If a liquid formula package is opened and not used right away, it should be kept in the refrigerator for up to 24 hours.


Storing your child's formula at home

The following information is a general guide. The formula package or your child’s healthcare professional may provide other instructions for your child’s particular formula.

Liquid Formulas
  • Check the expiry date on the formula. Throw away formula that is past its expiry date.
  • Packages that have not been opened can be stored at room temperature.
  • Once a formula package is opened it should be used right away OR covered and stored in the refrigerator. Use it within 24 hours. If not used in 24 hours, throw it away.
Powdered Formulas
  • Check the expiry date on the formula. Throw away formula that is past its expiry date.
  • Store powdered formula in a cool, dry place.
  • Check the package to see how long to keep the powdered formula after it is opened.
Common Questions and Answers about Formula Storage and Handling

Should I shake liquid feeding formula before using?

  • Yes. Always gently shake unopened liquid formula packages before using.

Do I need to refrigerate my child's formula before opening?

  • No. Most often, tube feeding formula is stored and used at room temperature. If a liquid formula package is opened and not used right away, it should be kept in the refrigerator for up to 24 hours.

Will using cold formula upset my child's stomach?

  • Cold formula may upset your child's stomach. You can take refrigerated formula out of the refrigerator for 30 minutes to slowly warm up to room temperature before feeding.

Nestlé Health Science has made every effort to include on this website only information that it believes to be accurate and reliable. This site is applicable to children ages 1-16 years and contains information from a variety of sources including practice-based resources, guidelines from professional organizations, and experiences of healthcare professionals who have managed patients on home tube feeding. Information provided on this site is for education purposes. It is not intended to replace the advice or instruction of your child’s healthcare professionals, or to substitute medical care. Contact a qualified healthcare professional if you have any questions regarding your child’s tube feeding product, prescription and supplies, or if you have specific question or issues about what is best for your child as you manage your child’s tube feeding at home.

MyTubeFeeding.ca/fr | Nutrition et préparations pour l'alimentation entérale

Nutrition et préparations
pour l'alimentation entérale

Importance d'une bonne alimentation
Types de préparations
Emballage et temps de suspension des préparations
Comment conserver vos préparations à la maison

Nutrition et préparations pour l'alimentation entérale

L'alimentation entérale vise à apporter un soutien nutritionnel aux enfants qui ne peuvent pas manger ni boire suffisamment par la bouche. Il existe une vaste gamme de préparations entérales pour fournir tous les éléments nutritifs dont le corps de votre enfant a besoin. Apprenez-en davantage sur la nutrition et les préparations pour l'alimentation entérale.

Si mon enfant est nourri à l'aide d'une sonde entérale, peut-il encore manger ou boire par la bouche?
Se nourrir par la bouche tout en étant sous alimentation entérale est possible et peut aider votre enfant à apprendre comment s'y prendre pour manger et boire par lui-même plus tard. Pour des questions de sécurité cependant, consultez toujours votre professionnel de la santé avant de donner un aliment ou un liquide par la bouche à votre enfant.

Importance d'une bonne alimentation

Nourrir un enfant vise d'abord à assurer sa croissance et son développement. Il peut s'agir de manger ou de boire par la bouche, d'alimentation entérale ou des deux méthodes. Une alimentation saine apporte plus que des aliments : elle fournit de l'énergie ainsi que les éléments nutritifs nécessaires pour garder la santé, la recouvrer ou favoriser la guérison.

Si maintenir une alimentation saine est important pour tous, cela devient crucial chez un enfant qui est malade, qui suit certains traitements médicaux, qui se relève d'une intervention chirurgicale, qui ne prend pas de poids ou dont la croissance est inférieure à la normale pour son âge. L'organisme d'un enfant peut devoir faire des efforts supplémentaires pour recouvrer la santé, ce qui peut accroître ses besoins nutritionnels. Certains enfants ont également des besoins particuliers, par exemple s'ils ont des problèmes digestifs ou des allergies alimentaires qui jouent sur leur choix d'aliments ou de préparations. Votre professionnel de la santé tiendra compte de tous les facteurs pertinents pour déterminer le type de préparation et la quantité nécessaires au quotidien. Une saine alimentation est importante pour répondre aux besoins nutritionnels de votre enfant. Parmi les éléments nutritifs nécessaires à l'organisme, on trouve :

  • les glucides;
  • les lipides;
  • les protéines;
  • les vitamines;
  • les minéraux;
  • l'eau.

Ensemble, ces éléments assurent le maintien et la formation du tissu organique et fournissent l'énergie nécessaire à l'organisme de votre enfant. Normalement, ces éléments nutritifs sont fournis par une consommation d'aliments variés. Comme votre enfant a des besoins spéciaux, c'est toutefois sous forme de liquides administrés par une sonde que ses besoins nutritionnels sont assurés.

Il y a plusieurs façons de vérifier si votre enfant reçoit les bons nutriments et en quantité suffisante. En voici des exemples :

  • La courbe de croissance permet de faire le suivi du poids et de la taille de l'enfant au fil du temps.
  • Le test sanguin permet de vérifier certains taux dans le sang (fer, protéines, glucose) de votre enfant.
  • La vérification de la peau, des os, des cheveux et des dents de votre enfant donne une idée générale de son état de santé et de sa croissance.

Votre équipe soignante suivra l'évolution de l'alimentation entérale de votre enfant à l'aide d'un plan de soins, lequel permettra notamment de vérifier son poids et sa taille pour s'assurer que l'apport alimentaire soutient bien sa croissance et répond à l'ensemble de ses besoins.


Types de préparations pour enfants âgés entre 1 an et 13 ans

Il existe une vaste gamme de préparations entérales, offertes en différents types d'emballage. Le professionnel de la santé de votre enfant tiendra compte de ses besoins particuliers pour choisir la préparation, c'est-à-dire non seulement ses besoins nutritionnels, mais aussi le mode d'administration à utiliser à la maison. Des produits similaires, dans les mêmes catégories qui suivent, sont disponibles pour les adultes et pourraient être recommandés pour les enfants âgés de plus de 13 ans.

Préparations standard

Les préparations pédiatriques standard sont complètes sur le plan nutritionnel et formulées pour les enfants âgés entre 1 an et 13 ans ayant une digestion normale. Certaines de ces préparations conviennent à l'alimentation par voie orale et entérale, et certaines contiennent des ingrédients additionnels, notamment des fibres.

Il existe également des préparations pédiatriques qui contiennent de vrais aliments, comme du poulet, des légumes et des fruits, auxquels sont ajoutés d'autres vitamines et minéraux pour créer une préparation nutritive complète.

Nutren® Junior, Resource® Essentiels Jeunesse 1.5 et Compleat® Pediatric sont des exemples de préparations standard.


Préparations semi-élémentaires/à base de peptides

Comme les préparations standard, les préparations semi-élémentaires sont des préparations complètes sur le plan nutritionnel. Elles sont toutefois différentes, car certains des éléments nutritifs qu'elles contiennent, comme les protéines et les lipides, ont été réduits en particules plus petites pour les rendre plus faciles à digérer. C'est pourquoi l'on parle également de « préparations à base de peptides ». Le terme « peptides » désigne les petites particules de protéines. Certaines préparations semi-élémentaires/à base de peptides conviennent également à l'alimentation par voie entérale et orale; certaines contiennent des ingrédients additionnels, notamment des fibres et de l'huile de poisson.

Peptamen® Junior est un exemple de préparation semi-élémentaire/à base de peptides.

Préparations spécialisées

Il existe des préparations spécialisées formulées pour répondre aux besoins d'enfants ayant des exigences particulières, comme ceux atteints de la maladie de Crohn, d'allergies alimentaires multiples ou ayant de graves difficultés à digérer les lipides et les protéines.

Modulen® IBD et Vivonex® Pediatric® sont des exemples de préparations spécialisées.

Produits modulaires

Les produits modulaires sont des nutriments individuels pouvant être ajoutés à la préparation d'un enfant ayant des besoins supplémentaires à combler sur le plan nutritionnel. Les produits modulaires enrichissent le produit en protéines ou en lipides ou sur le plan calorique, sans augmenter le volume de la préparation en soi. Si des produits modulaires sont indiqués, votre professionnel de la santé vous montrera comment les utiliser et vous fournira une recette au besoin.

Microlipid®, Huile TCM et Beneprotein® sont des exemples de produits modulaires.


Emballage et temps de suspension des préparations

Emballage des préparations

Les préparations entérales sont offertes dans différents types d'emballage :

  • Liquides prêts à l'emploi présentés dans des briquettes, des flacons ou des boîtes métalliques
  • Poudre dans un contenant ou un petit paquet à mélanger avec de l'eau

Toutes ces préparations sont administrées au moyen d'une seringue ou d'un contenant où la préparation est préalablement versée.

TEMPS DE SUSPENSION DES PRÉPARATIONS

On entend par « temps de suspension » la durée pendant laquelle la préparation entérale peut demeurer à température ambiante, avant d'être administrée, une fois que l'emballage a été ouvert ou que le sceau de l'emballage d'origine a été brisé. Voici les temps de suspension généralement recommandés :

  • Maximum de 8 heures* pour les liquides prêts à l'emploi
  • Maximum de 4 heures* pour les poudres ou préparations mélangées avec de l'eau ou d'autres produits modulaires

* Remarque importante :
Vérifiez toujours le temps de suspension de la préparation entérale utilisée pour votre enfant auprès de votre professionnel de la santé. La durée après ouverture de la préparation de votre enfant pourrait être moindre, selon son état de santé.

Dois-je réfrigérer la préparation de mon enfant avant de l'ouvrir?
Non. Les préparations entérales sont le plus souvent conservées et utilisées à température ambiante.

Si une préparation liquide n'est pas utilisée immédiatement après l'ouverture de l'emballage, il faut la conserver au réfrigérateur et la jeter après 24 heures.


Conservation de la préparation de votre enfant à la maison

Les renseignements suivants sont donnés à titre indicatif. Il se peut que les instructions figurant sur l'emballage de la préparation de votre enfant ou celles fournies par le professionnel de la santé de votre enfant diffèrent.

Préparations liquides
  • Vérifiez la date de péremption de la préparation. Si la date est dépassée, jetez la préparation.
  • Les emballages qui n'ont pas été ouverts peuvent être conservés à la température ambiante.
  • Une fois l'emballage ouvert, la préparation doit être utilisée immédiatement OU conservée au réfrigérateur dans un contenant couvert. Elle doit être utilisée dans les 24 heures. Si elle n'est pas utilisée dans ce délai, il faut la jeter.
Préparations en poudre
  • Vérifiez la date de péremption de la préparation. Si la date est dépassée, jetez la préparation.
  • Conservez les préparations en poudre dans un endroit frais et sec.
  • Voyez sur l'emballage combien de temps vous pouvez conserver la préparation en poudre après l'ouverture de l'emballage.
Questions et réponses courantes sur l'entreposage
et la manipulation des préparations

Dois-je agiter la préparation liquide avant de l'utiliser?

  • Oui. Il faut toujours agiter doucement les contenants de préparation liquide avant de les utiliser.

Dois-je réfrigérer la préparation de mon enfant avant de l'ouvrir?

  • Non. Les préparations entérales sont le plus souvent conservées et utilisées à température ambiante. Si une préparation liquide n'est pas utilisée immédiatement après l'ouverture de l'emballage, il faut la conserver au réfrigérateur et la jeter après 24 heures.

L'administration d'une préparation froide dérangera-t-elle l'estomac de mon enfant?

  • Il est possible qu'une préparation administrée froide dérange l'estomac de votre enfant. Vous pouvez sortir la préparation du réfrigérateur 30 minutes plus tôt pour la laisser lentement atteindre la température ambiante avant de l'administrer.

Nestlé Health Science a fait tout en son pouvoir pour n'inclure dans ce site Web que des renseignements qu'elle jugeait exacts et dignes de foi. L'information présentée sur ce site vise des enfants âgés entre 1 an et 16 ans et provient de diverses sources, notamment de ressources tirées de la pratique médicale, de lignes directrices d'organismes professionnels et de l'expérience de professionnels de la santé ayant assuré la prise en charge de patients sous alimentation entérale à domicile. Ces renseignements sont fournis à des fins éducatives. Ils ne visent pas à remplacer l'avis ou les prescriptions des professionnels de la santé de votre enfant ni à se substituer aux soins médicaux. Communiquez avec un professionnel de la santé qualifié si vous avez des questions concernant le produit d'alimentation entérale de votre enfant, son ordonnance ou ses fournitures, ou si vous avez des questions ou des problèmes particuliers au sujet de ce qui lui convient le mieux dans le cadre de la prise en charge de son alimentation entérale à domicile.