TO ENSURE WE ARE DELIVERING YOU THE APPROPRIATE CONTENT, PLEASE CONFIRM:
The following content is restricted for healthcare professionals only.
You will be redirected.
The following content is restricted for consumers only.
You will be redirected.

Managing Dysphagia

Managing dysphagia

Living with dysphagia can be challenging, however, there is plenty of information to help successfully manage this condition at home.

Strategies for care

Following a plan can help you manage your dysphagia. Ask your dysphagia care specialist about a plan that may be right for you. In the meantime, see below for some examples of strategies that are followed by some people living with dysphagia.

  • Eating properly to make sure you get enough nutrients to maintain good health
  • Modifying the consistency of your foods and drinks to help you swallow safely
  • Practicing good oral hygiene

These measures are explained in greater detail below.

Nutrition in dysphagia management

Good nutrition is especially important for people with dysphagia. There are two main goals of nutrition management in dysphagia:

  • Make sure you eat and drink enough
  • Minimize choking and aspiration risk

Regular foods and liquids may cause problems for someone with dysphagia. In order to reduce the risk of aspiration and choking, managing dysphagia may involve changing the textures of food and drinks. Drinks and other liquids may need to be thickened so they are more easily managed in the mouth and throat. Solid foods may need to be chopped, minced or pureed to decrease the amount of chewing required and to reduce the risk of blocking the airway. The thickness of liquids and the textures of food vary according to individual needs. Your healthcare professional can advise you on what texture is right for you.

Adapting your diet

A dysphagia diet has two separate parts: liquids and solid foods. Based on an assessment of your swallowing ability, your healthcare professional will tell you which liquid consistency and what food texture modifications are right for you.

How do texture-modified liquids and foods help with safer swallowing?

Thickened beverages and texture-modified foods may help with swallowing safety by slowing down the movement of liquids in the mouth and throat, and creating food textures that are easier to chew and manage in the mouth. In people with dysphagia, the normal swallowing process can be impaired. Specifically, there is a muscle called the “epiglottis” that is responsible for making sure food or drink goes down the right way (into your esophagus and to the stomach, avoiding the airway). Normally, the airway should close as the foods or liquids enter the throat to make sure a swallow is successful. However, for some people with dysphagia, this function can be impaired, leading to food or liquid going down the wrong way, into the airway. Thickened beverages move more slowly and are often easier to handle in the mouth than thin liquids. This gives more time to close off the airway so the liquids can travel down the esophagus to the stomach. See the accompanying video for a visual explanation.

Drink consistencies

Some examples of thickened fluid consistencies are:

Nectar-like/mildly thick

Nectar-like or mildly thick fluids can be sipped from a cup and will fall off a spoon if tipped. They flow slower than thin drinks. These drinks can be consumed through a straw but will require some effort.

Honey-like/moderately thick

Honey-like or moderately thick fluids can be eaten with a spoon but do not hold their shape. These fluids are very difficult to eat with a fork since they will drip slowly through the prongs. Moderately thick drinks can be sipped from a cup, as well as consumed through a straw, however, doing so will generally require considerable effort.

Pudding-like/extremely thick

Extremely thick fluids are best eaten with a spoon, but using a fork is also an option. They hold their shape on a spoon and are too thick to be sipped from a cup or through a straw. Thick apple sauce and puddings are examples of extremely thick liquids.

Food consistencies

Some examples of modified food consistencies are:

Soft and bite-sized

Soft, bite-sized foods can be eaten with fork, spoon, chopsticks or your fingers. With this consistency, chewing is required before swallowing. A knife is not necessary to cut this type of food, which can also be mashed with a fork, spoon or chopsticks. The bite-sized pieces should be no larger than 1.5 cm for adults and 8 mm for children.

Minced and moist

Minced and moist foods can be eaten with a fork, spoon, chopsticks or your fingers. Minced and moist foods should be soft and moist, and can be scooped and shaped. No thin liquid should separate from the food. It may have small visible lumps that are easy to mash with the tongue, and they should be no larger than 4 mm for adults or 2 mm for children.

Pureed

Pureed foods are equivalent in terms of consistency to pudding-like or extremely thick liquids. This refers to foods that are pureed to a uniform, cohesive texture without lumps that don’t require chewing. Extremely thick, pureed foods can be piped or molded. Liquids must not separate from the solid, and the food must be lump free.

Liquidized

Liquidized foods are equivalent in terms of consistency to honey-like or moderately thick liquids. Runny fruit purees (such as those used for infant “first foods”) and some thinner pureed soups are examples of foods that fit in this category. Liquidized foods cannot be piped, layered or hold a shape on their own. They should have a smooth texture with no discernible bits such as lumps, fibres or particles.

Nestlé Health Science has made every effort to include on this website only information that it believes to be accurate and reliable. Information provided on this site is for education purposes. It is not intended to replace the advice or instruction of your healthcare professionals, or to substitute medical care. Contact a qualified healthcare professional if you have questions or issues about what is best for you as you manage your swallowing difficulties at home.




TM Owner: Société des Produits Nestlé S.A., Vevey, Switzerland. ©2017 Nestlé. All rights reserved.

AFIN QUE NOUS PUISSIONS VOUS OFFRIR UN CONTENU ADÉQUAT, VEUILLEZ CONFIRMER:
Vous allez être dirigé vers votre espace.
Ce contenu n'est accessible qu'aux professionnels de santé.
Vous allez être dirigé vers votre espace.



Managing dysphagia

Living with dysphagia can be challenging, however, there is plenty of information to help successfully manage this condition at home.

Stratégies de soins

Votre gestion de la dysphagie peut être facilitée si vous vous conformez à un plan. Demandez à votre spécialiste de la dysphagie d’établir un plan qui vous convient. Dans l’intervalle, vous trouverez ci-dessous des exemples de stratégies qu’adoptent certaines personnes atteintes de dysphagie.

  • Mangez de façon adéquate afin de vous assurer d’obtenir suffisamment d’éléments nutritifs pour vous maintenir en bonne santé.
  • Modifiez la consistance des aliments et des boissons pour vous aider à avaler sans danger.
  • Adoptez de bonnes habitudes d’hygiène buccale.

Ces stratégies sont expliquées plus en détail ci-dessous.

L’alimentation dans la gestion de la dysphagie

Une bonne alimentation est particulièrement importante pour les personnes atteintes de dysphagie. Chez ces personnes, la gestion nutritionnelle comporte deux principaux objectifs:

  • s’assurer de manger et de boire suffisamment;
  • réduire au minimum le risque d’aspiration et d’étouffement.

Les aliments et les liquides ordinaires peuvent causer des problèmes aux personnes atteintes de dysphagie. Afin de réduire le risque d’aspiration et d’étouffement, la gestion de la dysphagie peut comprendre la modification de la texture des aliments et des boissons. Certaines personnes devront possiblement épaissir les boissons et autres liquides de façon à ce qu’ils coulent plus facilement dans la bouche et la gorge. Les aliments solides peuvent être hachés, émincés ou réduits en purée afin de diminuer le travail de mastication ainsi que le risque de blocage des voies respiratoires. L’épaisseur des liquides et la texture des aliments varient selon les besoins de chaque personne. Votre professionnel de la santé peut vous conseiller quant à la texture qui vous convient.

Adapter votre alimentation

Le régime alimentaire des personnes atteintes de dysphagie comporte deux éléments: les liquides et les aliments solides. Selon l’évaluation de votre capacité de déglutition, votre professionnel de la santé vous dira quelles consistances de liquide et modifications de texture des aliments vous conviennent.

De quelle façon les aliments et les liquides à texture modifiée permettent-ils une déglutition plus sûre?

Les boissons épaissies peuvent vous aider à avaler sans danger en ralentissant le déplacement des liquides dans la bouche et la gorge, alors que les aliments dont la texture a été modifiée sont plus faciles à mâcher et à avaler. Chez les personnes atteintes de dysphagie, le processus normal de déglutition peut être altéré. Plus précisément, il existe un muscle appelé «épiglotte» dont le but est de s’assurer que les aliments ou les boissons empruntent le bon chemin (c.-à-d. qu’ils passent dans votre oesophage et votre estomac en évitant les voies respiratoires). Normalement, les voies respiratoires se ferment lorsque des aliments ou des liquides pénètrent dans la gorge pour assurer une déglutition normale. Cependant, chez certaines personnes atteintes de dysphagie, cette fonction peut être altérée; les aliments ou les liquides empruntent alors le mauvais chemin, c’est-à-dire qu’ils pénètrent dans les voies respiratoires. Les boissons épaissies se déplacent plus lentement et sont souvent plus faciles à avaler que les liquides clairs. Cela laisse donc plus de temps aux voies respiratoires pour se fermer afin que les liquides puissent descendre par l’oesophage vers l’estomac. Voir la vidéo d’accompagnement pour obtenir une explication visuelle.

Consistances des liquides

Voici certains exemples de différentes consistances de liquides épaissis:

Liquides peu épais/consistance semblable au nectar

Les liquides peu épais ou dont la consistance ressemble à celle du nectar peuvent être bus dans une tasse et couler d’une cuillère si celle-ci est inclinée. Ils s’écoulent plus lentement que les liquides clairs. Ces boissons peuvent être consommées avec une paille, mais cela nécessite un peu d’effort.

Liquides moyennement épais/consistance semblable au miel

Les liquides moyennement épais ou dont la consistance ressemble à celle du miel peuvent se manger à la cuillère, mais ne conservent pas leur forme. Ces liquides sont très difficiles à manger avec une fourchette, puisqu’ils coulent lentement entre les dents de la fourchette. Les liquides moyennement épais peuvent être bus dans une tasse ou avec une paille, mais cela nécessite généralement un effort considérable.

Liquides très épais/consistance semblable au pouding

Les liquides très épais se mangent mieux avec une cuillère, mais peuvent aussi se manger avec une fourchette. Ils conservent leur forme dans une cuillère et sont trop épais pour être bus dans une tasse ou avec une paille. Une compote de pommes épaisse et les poudings sont des exemples de liquides très épais.

Consistances des aliments

Voici certains exemples de consistances d’aliments modifiées:

Aliments mous et en morceaux de la taille d’une bouchée

Les aliments mous et en morceaux de la taille d’une bouchée peuvent se manger à la fourchette, à la cuillère, avec des baguettes ou avec les doigts. Les aliments ayant cette consistance doivent être mâchés avant d’être avalés. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’utiliser un couteau pour couper ce type d’aliments, puisqu’il est possible de les écraser avec une fourchette, une cuillère ou des baguettes. Les morceaux de la taille d’une bouchée ne devraient pas faire plus de 1,5 cm lorsqu’ils sont destinés aux adultes et 8 mm lorsqu’ils sont destinés aux enfants.

Aliments émincés et tendres

Les aliments émincés et tendres peuvent se manger à la fourchette, à la cuillère, avec des baguettes ou avec les doigts. Ces aliments doivent être mous et tendres, et peuvent être mesurés et prendre une forme quelconque. Aucun liquide clair ne doit se séparer de ces aliments. Ceux-ci peuvent contenir de petits morceaux visibles faciles à écraser avec la langue, qui ne devraient pas faire plus de 4 mm lorsqu’ils sont destinés aux adultes et 2 mm lorsqu’ils sont destinés aux enfants.

Aliments en purée

Les aliments en purée ont la même consistance que les liquides très épais ou semblables à un pouding. Il s’agit d’aliments réduits en une purée ayant une texture cohésive et uniforme, et ne contenant aucun grumeau qu’il n’est pas nécessaire de mâcher. Les aliments très épais réduits en purée peuvent être utilisés pour faire des décorations à la poche à douille ou moulés. Aucun liquide ne doit pas se séparer de la partie solide, et l’aliment ne doit contenir aucun grumeau.

Aliments liquéfiés

Les aliments liquéfiés ont la même consistance que les liquides moyennement épais ou dont la consistance ressemble à celle du miel. Les purées de fruits liquides (comme celles utilisées comme «premiers aliments» pour les nourrissons) et certains potages plus clairs sont des exemples d’aliments entrant dans cette catégorie. Les aliments liquéfiés ne peuvent pas être utilisés pour faire des décorations à la poche à douille ni être disposés en étages et ne conservent pas leur forme. Ils doivent avoir une texture lisse et ne contenir aucun morceau visible d’aliment comme des grumeaux, des fibres ou des particules.

Nestlé Health Science a fait tout en son pouvoir pour n’inclure dans ce site Web que des renseignements qu’elle jugeait exacts et dignes de foi. Ces renseignements sont fournis à des fins éducatives. Le site ne vise pas à remplacer l’avis ou les prescriptions des professionnels de la santé ni à se substituer aux soins médicaux. Communiquez avec un professionnel de la santé qualifié si vous avez des questions ou des problèmes au sujet de ce qui vous convient le mieux dans le cadre de la gestion de la dysphagie à la maison.




Prop. des marques: Société des Produits Nestlé S.A., Vevey, Suisse. © 2017 Nestlé. Tous droits réservés.