Tips & Advice

Tips & advice

Managing dysphagia can be complex, so we’ll try and make it easier for you. In this section, we’ll share tips and advice for patients seeking healthcare resources, and how caregivers can help.

Preparing for your visit with a doctor

Your family doctor is your gateway to various healthcare resources. From screening and assessment, to recommendation on what products to use, they are often your first point of contact for medical care for swallowing difficulties. When you’ve decided that you would like to speak with your doctor about your swallowing problems, you have already taken the first step in understanding dysphagia and what it means for you.

To help you get the most out of your meeting with your doctor, here are some questions you may like to ask about your possible swallowing difficulties:

  • How will my swallowing problems be tested?
  • What could be causing my swallow difficulties?
  • What kind of management options are available, and what can I expect from them?
  • Will I be referred to any other healthcare specialists, and what can I expect from them?
  • What can I do to help manage my swallowing problems at home?
  • Where can I go to learn more about dysphagia and ways to manage this condition at home?

You can expect your doctor to ask you a number of questions, such as:

  • How long have you had swallowing difficulties?
  • Can you describe what your swallowing difficulties feel like?
  • Have you taken any self-assessments? (It may help to discuss your EAT-10 results with your doctor)
  • Can you think of any specific events that caused them to start?
  • Are your swallowing difficulties ongoing or intermittent? Specifically, when do you have swallowing difficulties?
  • Are you doing anything right now to manage your swallowing difficulties at home?
  • How have your swallowing difficulties impacted your life? Have they affected how much you eat or drink? Have they caused any other problems?

Who is involved in dysphagia care?

Caring for an individual with dysphagia may require many different healthcare professionals, in addition to your family and friends. In many cases, healthcare professionals take a multi-disciplinary team approach to caring for your swallowing problems. In all cases, your care ultimately revolves around ensuring you can swallow safely. While you may not require help from everyone on the list below, keep them in mind as you manage your swallowing difficulties.

General practitioners

General practitioners, also known as family physicians or family doctors, are the first point of care for many Canadians. They are also often the first point of contact for individuals who are looking for an assessment and care for swallowing problems. General practitioners have knowledge of a wide range of common and less common problems that patients may face and can refer dysphagia patients to appropriate specialists.

Registered dietitians

Registered dietitians are regulated healthcare professionals who are experts in nutrition. As nutrition care is a key part of living with dysphagia, dietitians are the go-to healthcare professionals for advice on how to ensure a healthy and adequate diet, especially if you require any texture changes to your food and drinks. In many cases, dietitians conduct swallowing assessments and will recommend the right texture changes for you.

Speech-language pathologists

Speech-language pathologists (SLP) are healthcare professionals who specialize in identifying and treating communication and swallowing disorders. SLPs are experts in swallowing assessments and the physiology of swallowing. SLPs are often the go-to healthcare professionals for clinical swallowing assessment to diagnose dysphagia and can recommend any food texture changes, postural modifications and/or rehabilitation exercises.

Occupational therapist

Occupational therapists are healthcare professionals who specialize in helping patients achieve a sense of normalcy in their life. Occupational therapists’ role in dysphagia management is diverse, including assisting dysphagia patients with feeding strategies, environmental and behavioural modifications, and conducting swallowing assessments.

Specialist physicians

Radiologists, neurologists, gastroenterologists, and otolaryngologists (ear, nose, and throat doctors) may also be involved in dysphagia care as these specialist physicians have advanced knowledge of the medical issues that are related to swallowing problems.

Dentists and registered dental hygienists

Oral care is a key component in living a healthy life with dysphagia. Aspiration pneumonia is a potential serious risk of dysphagia, and poor oral hygiene can increase this risk. (Koichiro 2011) Given the importance of oral care in dysphagia management, dental healthcare professionals play an important role in dysphagia care.

Healthy habits and mealtime tips

Posture and mealtime tips

Below are a few tips that may help you reduce your risk of choking while eating. It is important to ask your healthcare professionals which of these tips may be right for you, and if there are any others that may help you to swallow better.

  • Eating while sitting upright and avoiding lying down while eating
  • Eat when you are fully awake and alert
  • Avoid distractions while you eat, such as talking or watching television, to help you concentrate on your swallowing
  • If you find it difficult to keep upright while eating, put cushions around yourself to stop you from leaning over to one side
  • If you find it difficult to hold your head up, try using neck cushions for help
  • Avoid stretching your neck backwards while you are swallowing
  • If you need help with eating, the person who is helping you should be in front of you but lower down than the seat of your chair
  • Take small bites and sips, and don’t put more food in your mouth until you have swallowed the previous mouthful
  • Remain upright for at least 30 minutes after eating to avoid reflux
  • Try not to talk while you eat; talking opens up the airway, making it easier for you to choke
Oral care

People with dysphagia may be at increased risk of aspiration pneumonia. (Baijens L, et al. European Society for Swallowing Disorders – European Union Geriatric Medicine Society white paper: oropharyngeal dysphagia as a geriatric syndrome. Clin Int Aging. 2016:11:1403-1428) This may occur when harmful mouth bacteria is carried into the lungs along with food, drink or saliva. For this reason, oral care is very important for people with dysphagia. Keeping a clean and healthy mouth, including your tongue and palate, can be an important part of managing the risk of aspiration pneumonia. (Koichiro 2011) Ask your dental or healthcare professional about the right oral health plan for you.

Dry mouth can be a concern for people with dysphagia. Dry mouth may make swallowing problems worse by making it difficult to manipulate food and drink in the mouth, and to form a bolus. It may lead to a number of oral health problems such as gum disease, tooth decay, and infections. (Ouanounou A. Compend Contin Educ Dent. 2016 May;37(5):306-311) This is because saliva has a role in keeping your mouth clean and healthy. Ask your healthcare professional about using mouth-lubricating products, such as artificial saliva.

Advice for caregivers and friends

When your friend or a loved one has dysphagia, it’s normal to want to do everything you can to help. There are many things you can do to help, such as:

  • Keeping track of medications and medical appointments
  • Writing a list of questions and taking notes during your visits with healthcare professionals
  • Watching for signs of changes in mood or health, and raising any concerns with the person’s healthcare professionals
  • Learn about dysphagia, so you can help your friend or loved one identify any signs of swallowing problems or changes in condition

Taking care of someone with dysphagia can be physically and emotionally demanding for the caregiver. This is why it’s so important for the caregivers and friends of those living with dysphagia to also take care of themselves, and to reach out for help if the demands and stress are too much.

It may be a good idea to share your feelings with someone you trust or another caregiver who may understand and share in your challenges. Take care of your physical health. Eat healthy and nutritious foods, and try to be physically active most days of the week.

Try to have daily conversations about a topic that is not related to dysphagia or the condition that caused it. Keep up with current events and local news to broaden your outlook and keep the conversations going.

Online resources

There is a variety of online resources from reputable organizations to help you recognize signs of caregiver stress. The below is just a short list of links that you may find useful.

Nestlé Health Science has made every effort to include on this website only information that it believes to be accurate and reliable. Information provided on this site is for education purposes. It is not intended to replace the advice or instruction of your healthcare professionals, or to substitute medical care. Contact a qualified healthcare professional if you have questions or issues about what is best for you as you manage your swallowing difficulties at home.




TM Owner: Société des Produits Nestlé S.A., Vevey, Switzerland. ©2017 Nestlé. All rights reserved.

AFIN QUE NOUS PUISSIONS VOUS OFFRIR UN CONTENU ADÉQUAT, VEUILLEZ CONFIRMER:
Vous allez être dirigé vers votre espace.
Ce contenu n'est accessible qu'aux professionnels de santé.
Vous allez être dirigé vers votre espace.



Tips & advice

Managing dysphagia can be complex, so we’ll try and make it easier for you. In this section, we’ll share tips and advice for patients seeking healthcare resources, and how caregivers can help.

Se préparer à une visite chez le médecin

Votre médecin de famille est votre point d’accès aux différentes ressources en soins de santé. Du dépistage à l’évaluation de la dysphagie en passant par les recommandations quant aux produits à utiliser, le médecin de famille est souvent votre premier point de contact pour obtenir des soins médicaux pour cette maladie. Lorsque vous décidez de discuter avec votre médecin au sujet de vos problèmes de déglutition, vous entamez déjà la première étape dans la compréhension de la dysphagie et de ce que cela signifie pour vous.

Pour vous aider à tirer le maximum de votre rencontre avec votre médecin, voici quelques questions que vous pourriez lui poser sur vos troubles de déglutition éventuels:

  • Quelles méthodes seront utilisées pour évaluer mes problèmes de déglutition?
  • Quelles pourraient être les causes de mes troubles de déglutition?
  • Quelles sont les options de gestion qui s’offrent à moi et quels sont les bienfaits potentiels?
  • Serai-je orienté vers d’autres spécialistes de la santé et que puis-je m’attendre d’eux?
  • Que puis-je faire pour participer à la gestion de la dysphagie chez moi?
  • Où puis-je en apprendre davantage sur la dysphagie et la gestion de cette maladie à domicile?

Vous pouvez vous attendre à ce que votre médecin vous pose un certain nombre de questions comme:

  • Depuis combien de temps avez-vous des problèmes de déglutition?
  • Pouvez-vous décrire les symptômes de vos problèmes de déglutition?
  • Avez-vous déjà répondu à un questionnaire d’autoévaluation? (Cette question peut vous aider à discuter des résultats du questionnaire EAT-10 avec votre médecin.)
  • Y a-t-il des événements précis qui agissent comme facteurs déclencheurs?
  • Vos problèmes de déglutition sont-ils constants ou intermittents? Plus précisément, à quel(s) moment(s) avez-vous de la difficulté à avaler?
  • Quelles mesures prenez-vous actuellement pour gérer vos problèmes de déglutition à la maison?
  • Quelles sont les répercussions de vos problèmes de déglutition sur votre vie? Vos problèmes de déglutition ont-ils des répercussions sur la quantité d’aliments ou de boisson que vous consommez? Vos problèmes de déglutition vous ont-ils causé d’autres problèmes?

Qui prodigue des soins aux personnes atteintes de dysphagie?

Différents professionnels de la santé jouent un rôle dans les soins offerts aux personnes atteintes de dysphagie, outre leur famille et leurs amis. Dans la plupart des cas, les professionnels de la santé adoptent une approche multidisciplinaire pour traiter les troubles de la déglutition. Dans tous les cas, les soins visent essentiellement à s’assurer que vous pouvez déglutir sans danger. Bien qu’il soit possible que vous n’ayez pas besoin de l’aide de toutes les personnes énumérées ci-dessous, gardez à l’esprit qu’elles peuvent jouer un rôle dans la gestion de vos problèmes de déglutition.

Omnipraticiens

Les omnipraticiens, aussi appelés médecins de famille, sont le premier point d’accès aux soins pour de nombreux Canadiens. Ils sont souvent aussi le premier point de contact pour les personnes qui cherchent à obtenir une évaluation et un traitement de leurs problèmes de déglutition. Les omnipraticiens possèdent des connaissances sur un large éventail de problèmes courants et moins courants auxquels les patients peuvent faire face et peuvent orienter les patients atteints de dysphagie vers les spécialistes appropriés.

Diététistes professionnelles

Les diététistes professionnelles sont des professionnels de la santé réglementés, qui se spécialisent dans la nutrition. Puisque les soins nutritionnels sont un élément important de la vie des personnes atteintes de dysphagie, les diététistes sont les professionnels de la santé qu’il convient de consulter pour obtenir des conseils sur la façon de se nourrir sainement et adéquatement, en particulier si vous devez modifier la texture de vos aliments et boissons. Dans la plupart des cas, les diététistes procèdent à des évaluations de la déglutition et recommandent les changements de texture qui vous conviennent.

Orthophonistes

Les orthophonistes sont des professionnels de la santé qui se spécialisent dans l’identification et le traitement des troubles de communication et de déglutition. Les orthophonistes sont les spécialistes de l’évaluation et de la physiologie de la déglutition. Les orthophonistes sont souvent les professionnels de la santé qu’il convient de consulter pour obtenir une évaluation clinique de la déglutition visant à diagnostiquer la dysphagie et peuvent recommander des modifications de texture des aliments, des changements de posture ou des exercices de réadaptation.

Ergothérapeutes

Les ergothérapeutes sont des professionnels de la santé qui aident les patients à jouir d’une vie normale. Le rôle des ergothérapeutes dans la gestion de la dysphagie est large et consiste à aider les patients atteints de dysphagie à adopter des stratégies d’alimentation et à apporter des changements environnementaux et comportementaux en réalisant des évaluations de la déglutition.

Médecins spécialistes

Les radiologistes, les neurologues, les gastro-entérologues et les otorhinolaryngologistes (spécialistes des oreilles, du nez et de la gorge) peuvent également jouer un rôle dans les soins offerts aux personnes atteintes de dysphagie, puisque ces médecins spécialistes ont des connaissances approfondies des problèmes médicaux liés aux troubles de la déglutition.

Dentistes et hygiénistes dentaires autorisés

Les soins buccaux sont un élément important d’une vie saine pour les personnes atteintes de dysphagie. La pneumonie par aspiration est un risque grave potentiel de la dysphagie, et une mauvaise hygiène buccale peut accroître ce risque (Koichiro 2011). Compte tenu de l’importance des soins buccaux dans la gestion de la dysphagie, les professionnels des soins dentaires jouent un rôle important dans le traitement de la dysphagie.

Saines habitudes de vie et conseils à suivre au moment des repas

Posture et conseils à suivre au moment des repas

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des conseils pour vous aider à réduire le risque d’étouffement pendant que vous mangez. Il est important de demander à vos professionnels de la santé si ces conseils sont appropriés dans votre cas et si d’autres conseils pourraient vous aider à améliorer votre capacité de déglutition.

  • Mangez en position assise le dos bien droit et évitez de manger en position étendue.
  • Mangez lorsque vous êtes bien éveillé et alerte.
  • Évitez les distractions pendant que vous mangez, comme parler ou regarder la télévision, pour vous aider à vous concentrer sur votre déglutition.
  • Si vous avez de la difficulté à vous tenir bien droit pendant les repas, placez des coussins autour de vous pour vous empêcher de pencher sur un côté.
  • Si vous avez de la difficulté à tenir votre tête droite, utilisez un coussin cervical pour vous aider.
  • Évitez de vous étirer le cou vers l’arrière alors que vous avalez.
  • Si vous avez besoin d’aide lorsque vous mangez, la personne qui vous aide devrait se tenir en face de vous, mais à un niveau plus bas que le siège de votre chaise.
  • Prenez de petites bouchées et gorgées, et ne prenez pas une bouchée ou gorgée tant que vous n’avez pas avalé ce que vous avez dans la bouche.
  • Restez en position verticale pendant au moins 30 minutes après avoir mangé pour éviter tout reflux.
  • Évitez de parler lorsque vous mangez, puisque, lorsque vous parlez, vos voies respiratoires sont ouvertes, ce qui augmente le risque d’étouffement.
Soins buccaux

Les personnes atteintes de dysphagie peuvent être exposées à un risque accru de pneumonie par aspiration (Baijens, L. et coll. European Society for Swallowing Disorders – European Union Geriatric Medicine Society white paper: oropharyngeal dysphagia as a geriatric syndrome. Clin Int Aging. 2016:11:1403-1428). Cela peut se produire lorsque des bactéries dangereuses présentes dans la bouche pénètrent dans les poumons avec des aliments, des boissons ou la salive. Pour cette raison, les soins buccaux sont très importants pour les personnes atteintes de dysphagie. Il est important d’avoir une bouche, y compris une langue et un palais, propre et en santé pour réduire le risque de pneumonie par aspiration (Koichiro 2011). Renseignez-vous auprès de votre dentiste ou de votre professionnel de la santé au sujet d’un plan de santé buccale qui vous convient.

La sécheresse de la bouche peut constituer une préoccupation pour les personnes atteintes de dysphagie. Elle peut aggraver les problèmes de déglutition en compliquant la manipulation des aliments dans la bouche et la formation du bol alimentaire. La sécheresse de la bouche peut entraîner plusieurs problèmes de santé buccale comme la maladie des gencives, les caries dentaires et les infections (Ouanounou, A. Compend Contin Educ Dent. Mai 2016;37(5):306-311). Cela s’explique par le fait que la salive aide à garder la bouche propre et en santé. Renseignez-vous à votre professionnel de la santé au sujet des lubrifiants buccaux, comme la salive artificielle.

Conseils pour les soignants et les amis

Lorsqu’un ami ou un proche est atteint de dysphagie, il est tout à fait normal de vouloir tout faire en son possible pour l’aider. Il y a plusieurs choses que vous pouvez faire pour aider une telle personne, comme:

  • Assurer le suivi des médicaments qu’elle prend et de ses rendez-vous médicaux.
  • Rédiger une liste de questions avant les rendez-vous avec les professionnels de la santé et prendre des notes pendant les rendez-vous.
  • Surveiller les signes de changement dans l’humeur ou la santé de la personne concernée et faire part de toute préoccupation à son professionnel de la santé.
  • En apprendre davantage sur la dysphagie de façon à pouvoir aider votre ami ou votre proche à détecter tout symptôme ou changement lié aux problèmes de déglutition.

Prendre soin d’une personne atteinte de dysphagie peut être très exigeant sur le plan physique et émotionnel pour le soignant. C’est pourquoi il est si important pour les soignants et les amis des personnes atteintes de dysphagie de prendre également soin d’eux-mêmes et de demander de l’aide si leur niveau de stress ou les besoins de la personne malade sont trop élevés.

Il peut être approprié de faire part de vos sentiments à quelqu’un en qui vous avez confiance ou à un autre soignant qui peut comprendre les défis auxquels vous faites face et échanger avec vous. Prenez soin de votre santé physique. Mangez des aliments sains et nutritifs et essayez d’être actif physiquement plusieurs jours par semaine.

Essayez, chaque jour, d’avoir des conversations sur un sujet qui n’est pas lié à la dysphagie ou à la maladie ayant causé la dysphagie. Restez au fait des événements actuels et des nouvelles locales afin d’élargir votre perspective et d’avoir des conversations variées.

Ressources en ligne

Diverses ressources en ligne provenant d’organisations fiables peuvent vous aider à reconnaître les signes de stress chez un soignant. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une brève liste de liens possiblement utiles.

Nestlé Health Science a fait tout en son pouvoir pour n’inclure dans ce site Web que des renseignements qu’elle jugeait exacts et dignes de foi. Ces renseignements sont fournis à des fins éducatives. Le site ne vise pas à remplacer l’avis ou les prescriptions des professionnels de la santé ni à se substituer aux soins médicaux. Communiquez avec un professionnel de la santé qualifié si vous avez des questions ou des problèmes au sujet de ce qui vous convient le mieux dans le cadre de la gestion de la dysphagie à la maison.




Prop. des marques: Société des Produits Nestlé S.A., Vevey, Suisse. © 2017 Nestlé. Tous droits réservés.