Are you at risk?

Are you at risk?

Dysphagia can lead to many health problems, yet it’s an often under-diagnosed condition. Learning about the symptoms and risks is important when deciding whether you or your loved one should be screened.

What are the symptoms of dysphagia?

When an individual has trouble swallowing, it may show up in different ways. The following is a list of some of the signs and symptoms that are associated with dysphagia.

Physical signs:

  • Difficulty starting a swallow or needing several attempts to swallow a mouthful
  • Choking or coughing while eating or drinking
  • Food or drink going into the nose or windpipe
  • Food or drink leaking out of the mouth when eating or drinking
  • Troubles swallowing saliva, possibly leading to drooling
  • Significant amounts of food left in the mouth or throat after swallowing
  • Gurgly or wet-sounding voice after swallowing
  • Painful swallowing
  • Frequent chest infections or aspiration pneumonia
  • Weight loss related to eating and drinking less

Behavioural signs:

  • Sudden or gradual change in eating and drinking habits
  • Not wanting to eat
  • Avoiding certain foods and drinks
  • Taking a long time to eat or drink
  • Social Isolation and/or desire to eat alone

If you are in doubt, or if you spot any of these signs, you may wish to consult a healthcare professional.

Dysphagia can be screened, assessed or diagnosed in a number of different ways.

Below are some of the common ways that a healthcare professional may test for dysphagia. Keep in mind that the process used to assess your swallowing problems may vary depending on the healthcare professional you visit.

Testing for dysphagia may include both instrumental and non-instrumental methods, meaning they may or may not use special tools to check your swallowing.

Non-instrumental methods to assess for dysphagia

Commonly, a healthcare professional, such as a speech-language pathologist, dietitian or occupational therapist, may start by checking your medical history, including any past problems with swallowing or history of conditions that may lead to difficulties with swallowing.

Once the healthcare professional understands your medical history, they will often conduct physical and visual examinations. In a typical situation, your healthcare professional may ask you about your mental status, nutritional status, and your respiratory health. They may ask you to open and close your mouth, simulate a cough or move your lips or tongue in a certain way to check for your overall control of oral muscles and nerve function. They may also listen to the way you speak for any warning signs, such as gurgly voice caused by saliva entering the airway.

Your healthcare professional may give you a range of different liquids or foods to swallow, in varying amounts and thicknesses, to check your ability to swallow safely and efficiently. Not all food and drink items are swallowed the same way. You might have a problem with one consistency and no problems with anything else.

Instrumental examinations for dysphagia

In-depth examinations using clinical instruments may be performed by healthcare professionals with a more specialized knowledge of dysphagia. Typically, these tests go much deeper than non-instrumental tests and are used to explore a person’s swallowing symptoms in detail beyond simply checking for signs of aspiration.

Videofluoroscopic Swallowing Study (VFSS)

Also known as Modified Barium Swallow Study, is a widely-used instrumental examination method used to assess swallowing difficulties. It uses x-ray video to look at how you swallow, how well your swallowing is working, and where things may be going wrong. A swallow specialist uses this test to make sure that food or drink is not going down the wrong way, and is not being left behind in the mouth or throat after the swallow. These are things that cannot be determined through a non-instrumental method of assessment. In this test, you will be asked to eat a range of foods and drinks mixed with barium. The kind of barium used in swallow studies is white powder that is safe for most people, and the purpose of the barium is to clearly see where the food or liquid is in your mouth and throat during a swallow because barium can be seen on x-rays. This way, your healthcare professional can see how your swallow works in real swallowing situations. An appointment for this test normally takes about up to an hour from start to finish, and during this time you may be under the x-ray for about 5 minutes. You might notice that your stool turns white after a barium swallow study. This is normal. Ask your healthcare professional for additional details about this test, such as any risk factors associated with any other conditions you may have, such as pregnancy, or whether this test may be right for you.

Flexible Endoscopic Evaluation of Swallowing (FEES)

An alternative test to VFSS to look at swallowing function. This procedure involves a small endoscope (a thin, long tube with a camera at the end) being inserted into your throat through your nose. The camera is then used to help a swallow specialist watch your swallowing function. Similar to VFSS, you will be asked to swallow various foods and drinks while your healthcare professional watches the camera. Typically, this procedure is not painful, and your healthcare professional will apply lubrication, sometimes containing numbing agents, to minimize discomfort in your nostrils. This test is often performed at an ear, nose, and throat doctor’s office. Other swallowing specialists also perform this test. The procedure itself should only take a few minutes. Following either type of instrumental procedure, your swallow specialist should take time to view the results and discuss recommendations with you.

What are the risks of dysphagia?

Dysphagia can be a serious medical condition and may impact your health and quality of life in a number of ways.

Malnutrition and dehydration

If you have swallowing difficulties, you may be at risk of not eating or drinking enough. This may lead to dehydration and malnutrition. Malnutrition and dehydration are serious problems that can lead to weight loss, weakness, increased risk of falls and a poor ability to fight infections. Ultimately, malnutrition and dehydration can result in frailty and weakness, potentially leading to the loss of a person’s independence.

Compromised quality of life

Eating and drinking often play a significant role in making life enjoyable. Not only are they a part of our day-to-day pleasures, but a large part of our social life, culture, and traditions centre around eating and drinking. It is no surprise that when someone suffers from dysphagia, it can significantly reduce the pleasure they get from eating and drinking their favourite things. In some cases, dysphagia may even lead to embarrassment, social isolation and depression, and place a person at further risk of malnutrition and dehydration. For these reasons, dysphagia may affect overall quality of life.

Respiratory problems

One of the most serious consequences of dysphagia is when the food or liquid goes down the wrong way, and into the airway. The medical term for this is “aspiration,” and it can lead to pneumonia or chest infections. Not everyone that “aspirates” food or liquid into their airway will develop pneumonia, however, there is a 50% risk of developing pneumonia depending upon the health of the individual. Also, aspiration pneumonia may carry up to 50% risk of death in certain individuals.

References: 1. Clavé P, Arreola V, Romea M, et al. Accuracy of the volume-viscosity swallow test for clinical screening of oropharyngeal dysphagia and aspiration. Clinical Nutrition (Edinburgh, Scotland). 2008;27(6):806-15. 2. Clavé P, Terre R, de Kraa M, et al. Approaching oropharyngeal dysphagia. Revista espanola de enfermedades digestivas. 2004;96(2):119-31.

The need for tube feeding

In severe cases, an individual living with dysphagia may need to consider being fed through a feeding tube in order to be safely nourished. The decision to be fed using a feeding tube is a complex one, which requires a knowledge of all the risks and benefits. Your healthcare professional is your most reliable source of information about tube feedings.

Self-test questionnaire

EAT-10 is a list of 10 questions about your swallowing ability. This questionnaire can be completed in as little as 2 minutes and can assess your risk of dysphagia, and the need to see a swallowing specialist for further assessment. This questionnaire may be answered by the person with the swallowing difficulties alone or with the help of a caregiver or a healthcare professional. Complete the questionnaire here.

Nestlé Health Science has made every effort to include on this website only information that it believes to be accurate and reliable. Information provided on this site is for education purposes. It is not intended to replace the advice or instruction of your healthcare professionals, or to substitute medical care. Contact a qualified healthcare professional if you have questions or issues about what is best for you as you manage your swallowing difficulties at home.




TM Owner: Société des Produits Nestlé S.A., Vevey, Switzerland. ©2017 Nestlé. All rights reserved.

Are you at risk?

Dysphagia can lead to many health problems, yet it’s an often under-diagnosed condition. Learning about the symptoms and risks is important when deciding whether you or your loved one should be screened.

Quels sont les symptômes de la dysphagie?

Lorsqu’une personne a de la difficulté à avaler, cela peut se manifester de différentes façons. Voici une liste de certains signes et symptômes associés à la dysphagie.

Signes physiques:

  • Difficulté à enclencher une déglutition ou plusieurs tentatives pour avaler une bouchée
  • Étouffement ou toux en mangeant ou en buvant
  • Nourriture ou boisson passant par le nez ou la trachée
  • Nourriture ou boisson sortant de la bouche en mangeant ou en buvant
  • Difficulté à avaler la salive menant possiblement à un écoulement de salive
  • Grande quantité d’aliments dans la bouche ou la gorge après la déglutition
  • Voix gargouillante ou mouillée après la déglutition
  • Déglutition douloureuse
  • Infections fréquentes des voies respiratoires ou pneumonie par aspiration
  • Perte de poids liée à une consommation réduite d’aliments et de boissons

Signes comportementaux:

  • Changement soudain ou graduel dans les habitudes de consommation d’aliments ou de boissons
  • Refus de manger
  • Évitement de certains aliments ou boissons
  • Prolongation du temps consacré à manger ou à boire
  • Isolement social ou désir de manger seul

Si vous êtes dans le doute ou si vous notez l’apparition de l’un de ces signes, vous souhaiterez peut-être consulter un professionnel de la santé.

La dysphagie peut être détectée, évaluée ou diagnostiquée de différentes façons.

La section qui suit décrit différentes façons dont un professionnel de la santé peut détecter la dysphagie. Gardez à l’esprit que la méthode utilisée pour évaluer vos problèmes de déglutition peut varier selon le professionnel de la santé que vous consultez.

Les tests de dépistage de la dysphagie peuvent inclure des méthodes instrumentales et non instrumentales, ce qui signifie que des outils spéciaux peuvent ou non être utilisés pour vérifier votre capacité de déglutition.

Méthodes non instrumentales pour évaluer la dysphagie

En général, un professionnel de la santé, comme un orthophoniste, une diététiste ou un ergothérapeute, commence par l’examen de vos antécédents médicaux, y compris tout problème de déglutition antérieur ou antécédent d’affections pouvant entraîner des difficultés de déglutition.

Une fois que le professionnel de la santé comprend vos antécédents médicaux, il procède souvent à un examen physique et visuel. Votre professionnel de la santé vous posera généralement des questions sur votre état de santé mentale, votre état nutritionnel et votre santé respiratoire. Il pourrait vous demander d’ouvrir et de fermer la bouche, de simuler une toux ou de bouger vos lèvres ou la langue d’une certaine façon afin de vérifier la fonction de vos nerfs et votre maîtrise générale des muscles de la bouche. Il pourrait aussi écouter votre voix pour détecter tout signe avant-coureur, comme une voix gargouillante causée par la présence de salive dans vos voies respiratoires.

Votre professionnel de la santé pourrait vous demander d’avaler différents liquides ou aliments de différentes grosseurs et épaisseurs pour vérifier votre capacité à avaler de façon sûre et efficace. Les aliments et les boissons ne sont pas tous avalés de la même façon. Vous pourriez avoir de la difficulté à avaler un aliment ou une boisson d’une certaine consistance seulement.

Méthodes instrumentales pour évaluer la dysphagie

Les professionnels de la santé ayant des connaissances plus spécialisées de la dysphagie peuvent réaliser un examen plus détaillé au moyen d’instruments cliniques. En général, ces tests sont plus approfondis que les tests non instrumentaux et sont utilisés pour examiner en détail les symptômes des problèmes de déglutition en ne se limitant pas seulement à la simple vérification des signes d’aspiration.

Examen de la déglutition par vidéofluoroscopie

Aussi connu sous le nom de «gorgée barytée modifiée», l’examen de la déglutition par vidéofluoroscopie est une méthode instrumentale largement utilisée pour évaluer les difficultés à avaler. Il s’agit d’une vidéo radiographique qui permet d’observer la déglutition, la capacité de déglutition et où se situe le problème de déglutition. Un spécialiste de la déglutition a recours à cet examen pour s’assurer que les aliments ou les boissons passent normalement de la bouche vers l’estomac et qu’ils ne restent pas coincés dans la bouche ou la gorge après la déglutition. Une méthode d’examen non instrumentale ne permet pas d’obtenir ce type d’information. Si vous devez passer cet examen, vous devrez consommer différents aliments et boissons mélangés au baryum. Le type de baryum utilisé pour les examens de la déglutition est une poudre blanche sans danger pour la plupart des gens. Puisqu’il est possible de voir le baryum sur les radiographies, on l’utilise afin de visualiser clairement l’endroit où se trouve un aliment ou un liquide dans votre bouche et votre gorge pendant la déglutition. De cette façon, votre professionnel de la santé peut observer votre déglutition en contexte réel. Le rendez-vous pour cet examen dure normalement jusqu’à une heure, mais vous ne serez possiblement exposé aux rayons x qu’environ 5 minutes pendant ce temps. Vous remarquerez peut-être que vos selles seront blanches après avoir passé l’examen appelé gorgée barytée. Cela est normal. Demandez à votre professionnel de la santé de plus amples renseignements sur cet examen pour connaître les facteurs de risque associés à toute autre affection ou à une grossesse ou pour savoir si cet examen vous convient.

Endoscopie flexible par voie nasale

Il s’agit d’un autre examen qui permet d’évaluer la fonction de déglutition. Cette intervention consiste à insérer un petit endoscope (un long tube mince muni d’une caméra à une extrémité) dans la gorge par le nez. La caméra permet à un spécialiste de la déglutition d’évaluer votre fonction de déglutition. Comme dans le cas de l’examen de la déglutition par vidéofluoroscopie, vous devrez avaler divers aliments et boissons alors que votre professionnel de la santé regardera la caméra. En général, cette intervention n’est pas douloureuse, et votre professionnel de la santé appliquera un lubrifiant, lequel contient parfois des anesthésiques, afin de réduire au minimum la sensation de malaise dans les narines. Cet examen est souvent réalisé par un otorhinolaryngologiste. D’autres spécialistes de la déglutition effectuent aussi cet examen. L’intervention en tant que telle ne prend généralement que quelques minutes. À la suite de l’une ou l’autre de ces interventions instrumentales, votre spécialiste de la déglutition prendra le temps d’examiner les résultats et de discuter de ses recommandations avec vous.

Quels sont les risques associés à la dysphagie?

La dysphagie peut être une affection médicale grave et peut avoir différentes répercussions sur votre santé et votre qualité de vie.

Malnutrition et déshydratation

Si vous avez de la difficulté à avaler, il est possible que vous ne buviez pas ou ne mangiez pas suffisamment, ce qui peut mener à la déshydratation et à la malnutrition. Il s’agit là de graves problèmes pouvant entraîner une perte de poids, une faiblesse, un risque accru de chutes et une capacité réduite à combattre les infections. En dernier ressort, la déshydratation et la malnutrition peuvent se traduire par une fragilité et une faiblesse et mener possiblement à une perte d’autonomie.

Atteinte à la qualité de vie

Manger et boire sont souvent une source importante de plaisir dans la vie. En plus de faire partie des plaisirs de la vie quotidienne, ces actions font largement partie de notre vie sociale, de notre culture et de nos traditions. Il n’est donc guère surprenant qu’une personne atteinte de dysphagie n’éprouve plus autant de plaisir qu’avant à manger et à boire ce qu’elle préfère. Dans certains cas, la dysphagie peut même mener à la gêne, à l’isolement social, à la dépression et à un risque accru de malnutrition et de déshydratation. Pour ces raisons, la dysphagie peut avoir des répercussions sur la qualité de vie globale.

Troubles respiratoires

L’une des conséquences les plus graves de la dysphagie est le risque d’avaler de travers un aliment ou un liquide et qu’il se rende dans les voies aériennes. Le terme médical pour décrire cette situation est «aspiration»; il peut s’ensuivre une pneumonie ou une infection des voies respiratoires. Même si une pneumonie ne survient pas chaque fois qu’un aliment ou un liquide est aspiré dans les voies respiratoires, le risque de pneumonie est de 50 % selon la santé de la personne concernée. De plus, chez certaines personnes, la pneumonie par aspiration peut être associée à un risque de décès allant jusqu’à 50 %.

Références: 1. Clavé, P., Arreola, V., Romea, M. et coll. Accuracy of the volume-viscosity swallow test for clinical screening of oropharyngeal dysphagia and aspiration. Clinical Nutrition (Edinburgh, Écosse). 2008;27(6):806-15. 2. Clavé, P., Terre, R., de Kraa, M. et coll. Approaching oropharyngeal dysphagia. Revista espanola de enfermedades digestivas. 2004;96(2):119-31.

Besoin d’une alimentation entérale

Il est possible qu’une personne atteinte de dysphagie grave doive envisager l’alimentation entérale pour être nourrie sans danger. La décision d’être nourri au moyen d’une sonde d’alimentation est complexe et exige de connaître tous les risques et les avantages. Votre professionnel de la santé est la source d’information la plus fiable en ce qui concerne l’alimentation entérale.

Questionnaire d’autovérification

Le questionnaire EAT-10 comporte 10 questions sur votre capacité de déglutition. Ce questionnaire prend aussi peu que deux minutes à remplir et permet de déterminer votre risque de dysphagie et le besoin de consulter un spécialiste de la déglutition pour une évaluation plus approfondie. La personne ayant de la difficulté à avaler peut remplir ce questionnaire seule ou avec l’aide d’un soignant ou d’un professionnel de la santé. Remplir le questionnaire ici.

Nestlé Health Science a fait tout en son pouvoir pour n’inclure dans ce site Web que des renseignements qu’elle jugeait exacts et dignes de foi. Ces renseignements sont fournis à des fins éducatives. Le site ne vise pas à remplacer l’avis ou les prescriptions des professionnels de la santé ni à se substituer aux soins médicaux. Communiquez avec un professionnel de la santé qualifié si vous avez des questions ou des problèmes au sujet de ce qui vous convient le mieux dans le cadre de la gestion de la dysphagie à la maison.




Prop. des marques: Société des Produits Nestlé S.A., Vevey, Suisse. © 2017 Nestlé. Tous droits réservés.