Helpful Solutions

Helpful solutions

From various types of food and liquid thickeners to pre-prepared options, there is a wide range of solutions to texture modify a diet available for someone living with dysphagia. Find out which solution may be right for you.

Thickening agents

Thickeners, or thickening agents, are added to foods and liquids to make them thicker. These thickeners can be used in beverages as well as added to pureed foods to help create a uniform texture. Thickeners come in both powdered and liquid forms. In Canada, the two most common types of thickeners are starch based and xanthan gum based.

ThickenUp® ClearTM from Nestlé Health Science is an example of a xanthan gum-based thickening powder.

Why use a xanthan gum thickener?

Xanthan gum thickener creates a clear mixture when added to water. See for yourself in the comparison below.

  • Xanthan gum thickener powders are tasteless and odourless. Try some water thickened with xanthan gum powder and water thickened with a starch-based thickener, and you’ll notice the difference immediately.
  • Xanthan gum powders are stable, meaning they do not continue to thicken the prepared food or beverage over time. Starch based thickeners, however, can continue to thicken prepared food or beverages over time.
  • Xanthan gum thickener has a special property called “amylase resistance.” This means that liquids thickened with xanthan gum do not change their thickness in the presence of saliva in your mouth. Saliva contains an enzyme (called amylase) that can break down starch and cause your starch-thickened beverage to become thin in your mouth.
  • Xanthan gum thickener does not contribute significant dietary carbohydrate or calories making it suitable for people who are managing their carbohydrate or caloric intake.
Powder vs. liquid xanthan gum thickeners

There are two forms of xanthan gum thickeners available: powders and liquid thickeners. Both thickeners are suitable for modifying the consistency of beverages. Consider the following when choosing one that’s right for you:

  • Powdered and liquid xanthan gum thickeners require different mixing techniques, so be sure to follow the instructions carefully when preparing yours.
  • Powdered and liquid xanthan gum thickeners have different effects on taste. Xanthan gum powders are mostly tasteless, while some liquid xanthan gum thickeners may introduce a slight sour taste into the food or beverage it is mixed in.

Pre-thickened beverages

For times when you’d like a pre-thickened beverage for a quick drink or for when you are not at home, there are several options available in different consistencies. Ask your healthcare professional about what thickened beverage options may be right for you and where you might find them.

Ready-to-eat texture-modified foods

Much like with pre-thickened beverages, there are options for ready-to-eat texture-modified foods available, which are often available in grocery stores. Ask your healthcare professional whether you require texture-modified foods and where you might find them.

Nestlé Health Science has made every effort to include on this website only information that it believes to be accurate and reliable. Information provided on this site is for education purposes. It is not intended to replace the advice or instruction of your healthcare professionals, or to substitute medical care. Contact a qualified healthcare professional if you have questions or issues about what is best for you as you manage your swallowing difficulties at home.




TM Owner: Société des Produits Nestlé S.A., Vevey, Switzerland. ©2017 Nestlé. All rights reserved.

Helpful solutions

From various types of food and liquid thickeners to pre-prepared options, there is a wide range of solutions to texture modify a diet available for someone living with dysphagia. Find out which solution may be right for you.

Agents épaississants

Les agents épaississants sont ajoutés à des aliments et à des liquides pour les rendre plus épais. Ces agents épaississants peuvent être ajoutés à des boissons ou à des aliments en purée pour obtenir une texture uniforme. Les agents épaississants sont offerts en poudre ou en liquide. Au Canada, les deux types d’agents épaississants les plus courants sont ceux à base d’amidon et ceux à base de gomme de xanthane.

Le produit ThickenUp® ClearMC de Nestlé Health Science est un exemple d’un agent épaississant en poudre à base de gomme de xanthane.

Pourquoi utiliser un agent épaississant à base de gomme de xanthane?

Les agents épaississants à base de gomme de xanthane permettent d’obtenir un mélange clair lorsqu’on y ajoute de l’eau. Voyez vous-même la comparaison ci-dessous.

  • Les agents épaississants en poudre à base de gomme de xanthane sont sans odeur ni goût. Essayez une eau épaissie avec un agent épaississant en poudre à base de gomme de xanthane et une eau épaissie avec un agent épaississant à base d’amidon et vous remarquerez la différence immédiatement.
  • Les agents épaississants en poudre à base de gomme de xanthane sont stables, ce qui signifie qu’ils ne continuent pas d’épaissir l’aliment ou la boisson préparé après le mélange, ce qui n’est pas le cas des agents épaississants à base d’amidon.
  • Les agents épaississants à base de gomme de xanthane ont une propriété particulière appelée «résistance à l’amylase». Cela signifie que la consistance des liquides épaissis à la gomme de xanthane n’est pas modifiée au contact de la salive dans la bouche. La salive contient une enzyme (appelée amylase) qui fractionne l’amidon et réduit la consistance de toute boisson épaissie à l’amidon dans votre bouche.
  • Les agents épaississants à base de gomme de xanthane ne fournissent pas un apport alimentaire élevé en glucides et en calories et, par conséquent, conviennent aux personnes qui surveillent leur apport glucidique ou calorique.
Agents épaississants en poudre par rapport aux agents épaississants liquides à base de gomme de xanthane

Il existe deux types d’agents épaississants à base de gomme de xanthane: ceux en poudre et ceux liquides. Ces deux types d’agents épaississants permettent de modifier la consistance des boissons. Tenez compte de ce qui suit lorsque vous choisissez un agent épaississant qui vous convient:

  • Les agents épaississants en poudre ou liquides à base de gomme de xanthane nécessitent des techniques de mélange différentes. Vous devez donc vous assurer de suivre minutieusement les directives lors de la préparation.
  • Les agents épaississants en poudre ou liquides à base de gomme de xanthane ont un effet différent sur le goût. Les agents épaississants en poudre à base de gomme de xanthane sont, dans la plupart des cas, sans goût, tandis que certains agents épaississants liquides à base de gomme de xanthane peuvent ajouter un léger goût aigre aux aliments ou aux boissons auxquels ils sont mélangés.

Boissons pré-épaissies

Lorsque vous optez pour une boisson pré-épaissie comme solution rapide ou parce que vous êtes à l’extérieur de la maison, plusieurs options de différentes consistances s’offrent à vous. Demandez à votre professionnel de la santé quelles boissons épaissies vous conviennent et où les trouver.

Aliments à texture modifiée prêts à manger

Comme c’est souvent le cas pour les boissons pré-épaissies, différents aliments à texture modifiée prêts à manger sont souvent offerts dans les magasins d’alimentation. Demandez à votre professionnel de la santé si vous devez consommer des aliments à texture modifiée et où les trouver.

Nestlé Health Science a fait tout en son pouvoir pour n’inclure dans ce site Web que des renseignements qu’elle jugeait exacts et dignes de foi. Ces renseignements sont fournis à des fins éducatives. Le site ne vise pas à remplacer l’avis ou les prescriptions des professionnels de la santé ni à se substituer aux soins médicaux. Communiquez avec un professionnel de la santé qualifié si vous avez des questions ou des problèmes au sujet de ce qui vous convient le mieux dans le cadre de la gestion de la dysphagie à la maison.




Prop. des marques: Société des Produits Nestlé S.A., Vevey, Suisse. © 2017 Nestlé. Tous droits réservés.