MyTubeFeeding.ca | Nutrition and Tube Feeding Formulas

Nutrition & Tube
Feeding Formulas

Importance of good nutrition
Types of formulas
Formula packaging and hang time
Storing your formula at home

Importance of good nutrition

Tube feeding is a way of providing nutrition to people who cannot eat and drink enough by mouth. There is a wide range of tube feeding formulas available to provide the nutrition your body needs. Learn more about nutrition and tube feeding formulas.

Why does good nutrition matter?

A healthy diet is more than just “food” – it provides fuel as well as the building blocks to keep or restore health and to help with healing.

Maintaining a healthy diet and good nutrition is important for everyone, but is crucial to the person who has an illness, is receiving certain medical treatments, recovering from surgery, or has had unwanted weight loss. Your body may be working extra hard to restore good health, and this may increase your nutrient needs. The nutrients needed by the body include:

  • carbohydrates
  • vitamins
  • protein
  • minerals
  • fat
  • water

These nutrients work together to maintain and build body tissue and provide energy for your body. Normally, these nutrients are provided by eating a variety of foods. However, because of your special needs, you are getting your nutrition in a liquid form through a tube.


Types of formulas

There is a wide range of tube feeding formulas which may come in different types of packaging. Your healthcare professional will consider your unique needs when choosing a formula – this includes not only your nutrition needs but also the feeding method you are using at home.

Standard Formulas

Standard formulas are nutritionally complete and are designed for people who have normal digestion. Some of these formulas can be used for both tube-feeding and oral feeding, and some contain additional ingredients, such as fibre. There are also formulas available which contain real food ingredients such as chicken, vegetables and fruit along with other vitamins and minerals to create a nutritionally complete formula.

Isosource®, Nutren®, and Compleat® are examples of standard formulas.


Semi-elemental/Peptide-based Formulas

Like standard formulas, semi-elemental formulas are nutritionally complete. Semi-elemental formulas are different because they contain some nutrients, like protein and fat, which are ‘broken down’ into smaller units to make them easier to digest. This is the reason these formulas are also called “peptide-based” formulas – because “peptides” is the name used to describe smaller units of protein. Some semi-elemental/ peptide-based formulas can also be used for both tube-feeding and oral feeding, and some contain ingredients, such as fibre and fish oils.

Peptamen® is an example of a semi-elemental/peptide-based formula.

Specialized Formulas

Specialized formulas are available for people with particular needs such as kidney disease, Crohn’s disease, diabetes or those with severe trouble digesting fat and protein.

Novasource®, Modulen® and Vivonex® are examples of specialized formulas.

Modular Products

Modular products are individual nutrients that may be added to formula for those who require additional nutrition. Modular products provide extra protein, fat or calories without adding much volume to the formula itself. If modulars are needed, your healthcare professional will teach you how to use them and provide a recipe if needed.

Microlipid®, MCT Oil and Beneprotein® are examples of modular products.


Formula packaging & hang time

Formula Packaging

Tube feeding formulas come in different types of packages. Sometimes the terms “open system” and “closed system” are used to describe how the formula is packaged and delivered.

Open system formulas

PACKAGING

  • Ready-to-use liquids in ‘drink box’ packaging, bottles, or cans
  • A powder that is mixed with water

DELIVERY

  • Open system formulas are fed using either a syringe or container that the formula is poured into before feeding

Closed system formulas

PACKAGING

  • Pre-filled 1-1.5 Litre containers or pouches

DELIVERY

  • Closed system formula containers are ‘spiked’ or pierced with a feeding set before feeding
FORMULA HANG TIME

The term “formula hang time” refers to how long a tube feeding formula should remain at room temperature for feeding – after the formula package has been opened or the original package seal has been broken.

Open system formulas

  • Up to 8 hours* for ready-to-use liquids
  • Up to 4 hours* for powders that have been mixed with water

Closed system formulas

  • Up to 24-48 hours*

*Important Note: always check with your healthcare professional about the formula hang time for your tube feeding formula.


Storing your formula at home

The following information is a general guide. The formula package or your healthcare professional may provide other instructions for your particular formula.

Liquid Formulas
  • Check the expiry date on your formula. Throw away formula that is past its expiry date.
  • Packages that have not been opened can be stored at room temperature.
  • Once a formula package is opened:
    • ‘Drink box’ packaging, bottles, or cans should be used right away OR covered and stored in the refrigerator. Use it within 24 hours. If not used in 24 hours, throw it away.
    • Pre-filled 1-1.5 Litre containers can be used up to 24-48 hours once spiked or pierced with a feeding set
Powdered Formulas
  • Check the expiry date on your formula. Throw away formula that is past its expiry date.
  • Store powdered formula in a cool, dry place.
  • Check the package to see how long to keep the powdered formula after it is opened.
Common Questions and Answers about Formula Storage and Handling

Should I shake liquid feeding formula before using?

  • Yes. Always gently shake unopened liquid formula packages before using.

Do I need to refrigerate my formula before opening?

  • No. Most often, tube feeding formula is stored and used at room temperature. If a liquid formula package is opened and not used right away, it should be kept in the refrigerator for up to 24 hours.

Will using cold formula upset my stomach?

  • Cold formula may upset your stomach. You can take refrigerated formula out of the refrigerator for 30 minutes to slowly warm up to room temperature before feeding.

OWN YOUR FEEDING TUBE:
Learn how to use and live with your feeding tube in this five-part video series with Gunnar Esiason.

Nestlé Health Science has made every effort to include on this website only information that it believes to be accurate and reliable. This site contains information from a variety of sources including practice-based resources, guidelines from professional organizations, and experiences of healthcare professionals who have managed patients on home tube feeding. Information provided on this site is for education purposes. It is not intended to replace the advice or instruction of your healthcare professionals, or to substitute medical care. Contact a qualified healthcare professional if you have any questions regarding your tube feeding product, prescription and supplies, or if you have a specific question or issues about what is best for you as you manage your tube feeding at home.

MyTubeFeeding.ca/fr | Nutrition et préparations pour l'alimentation entérale

Nutrition et préparations
pour l'alimentation entérale

Importance d'une bonne alimentation
Types de préparations
Emballage et temps de suspension des préparations
Comment conserver vos préparations à la maison

L'importance de bien s'alimenter

L'alimentation entérale vise à apporter un soutien nutritionnel aux personnes qui ne peuvent pas manger ni boire suffisamment par la bouche. Il existe une vaste gamme de préparations entérales pour fournir tous les éléments nutritifs dont votre corps a besoin. Apprenez-en davantage sur la nutrition et les préparations pour l'alimentation entérale.

Pourquoi est-ce important de bien s'alimenter?

Une alimentation saine apporte plus que des aliments : elle fournit de l'énergie ainsi que les éléments nutritifs nécessaires pour garder la santé, la recouvrer ou favoriser la guérison.

Si maintenir une alimentation saine est important pour tout le monde, cela devient crucial en cas de maladie, à l'occasion de certains traitements médicaux, après une intervention chirurgicale ou en cas de perte de poids involontaire. Votre organisme peut devoir faire des efforts supplémentaires pour recouvrer la santé, ce qui peut accroître vos besoins nutritionnels. Parmi les éléments nutritifs nécessaires à l'organisme, on trouve :

  • les glucides;
  • les lipides;
  • les protéines;
  • les vitamines;
  • les minéraux;
  • l'eau.

Ensemble, ces éléments assurent le maintien et la formation du tissu organique et fournissent l'énergie nécessaire à l'organisme. Normalement, ces éléments nutritifs sont fournis par une consommation d'aliments variés. En raison de vos besoins spéciaux, toutefois, c'est sous forme de liquides acheminés par une sonde que sont assurés vos besoins nutritionnels.


Types de préparations

Il existe une vaste gamme de préparations entérales, offertes en différents types d'emballage. Votre professionnel de la santé tiendra compte de vos besoins particuliers pour choisir votre préparation, c'est-à-dire non seulement de vos besoins nutritionnels, mais aussi du mode d'administration que vous utilisez à domicile.

Préparations standard

Les préparations standard sont complètes sur le plan nutritionnel et formulées pour les personnes dont la digestion est normale. Certaines de ces préparations conviennent à l'alimentation par voie orale et entérale, et certaines contiennent des ingrédients additionnels, notamment des fibres. Il existe également des préparations qui contiennent de vrais aliments, comme du poulet, des légumes et des fruits auxquels sont ajoutés d'autres vitamines et minéraux pour créer une préparation nutritive complète.

Isosource®, Nutren® et Compleat® sont des exemples de préparations standard.


Préparations semi-élémentaires/à base de peptides

Comme les préparations standard, les préparations semi-élémentaires sont des préparations complètes sur le plan nutritionnel. Elles sont toutefois différentes, car certains des éléments nutritifs qu'elles contiennent, comme les protéines et les lipides, ont été réduits en particules plus petites pour les rendre plus faciles à digérer. C'est pourquoi l'on parle également de « préparations à base de peptides ». Le terme « peptides » désigne les petites particules de protéines. Certaines préparations semi-élémentaires/à base de peptides conviennent également à l'alimentation par voie entérale et orale; certaines contiennent des ingrédients additionnels, notamment des fibres et de l'huile de poisson.

Peptamen® est un exemple de préparation semi-élémentaire/à base de peptides.

Préparations spécialisées

Il existe des préparations spécialisées formulées pour répondre aux besoins particuliers de personnes atteintes d'une maladie rénale, de la maladie de Crohn, de diabète ou ayant de graves difficultés à digérer les lipides et les protéines.

Novasource®, Modulen® et Vivonex® sont des exemples de préparations spécialisées.

Produits modulaires

Les produits modulaires sont des nutriments individuels pouvant être ajoutés à la préparation d'une personne ayant des besoins supplémentaires à combler sur le plan nutritionnel. Les produits modulaires enrichissent le produit en protéines ou en lipides ou sur le plan calorique, sans augmenter le volume de la préparation en soi. Si des produits modulaires sont indiqués, votre professionnel de la santé vous montrera comment les utiliser et vous fournira une recette au besoin.

Microlipid®, Huile TCM et Beneprotein® sont des exemples de produits modulaires.


Emballage et temps de suspension des préparations

Emballage des préparations

Les préparations entérales sont offertes dans différents types d'emballage. Les expressions « système ouvert » et « système fermé » sont parfois utilisées pour décrire le type d'emballage et le mode d'administration des préparations.

Préparations en système ouvert

EMBALLAGE

  • Liquides prêts à l'emploi présentés dans des briquettes, des flacons ou des boîtes métalliques
  • Poudre à mélanger avec de l'eau

MODE D'ADMINISTRATION

  • Les préparations en « système ouvert » sont administrées au moyen d'une seringue ou d'un contenant dans lesquels la préparation est préalablement versée

Préparations en système fermé

EMBALLAGE

  • Sacs ou contenants de 1 à 1,5 L préremplis

MODE D'ADMINISTRATION

  • Les contenants de préparation en système fermé ont un « raccord perforateur » ou sont percés d'une tubulure avant l'alimentation
TEMPS DE SUSPENSION DES PRÉPARATIONS

On entend par « temps de suspension » la durée pendant laquelle la préparation entérale peut demeurer à température ambiante, avant d'être administrée, une fois que l'emballage a été ouvert ou que le sceau de l'emballage d'origine a été brisé.

Préparations en système ouvert

  • Maximum de 8 heures* pour les liquides prêts à l'emploi
  • Maximum de 4 heures* pour les poudres mélangées avec de l'eau

Préparations en système fermé

  • Maximum de 24 à 48 heures*

* Important : Veillez à toujours vérifier le temps de suspension de la préparation entérale utilisée auprès de votre professionnel de la santé.


Conservation de la préparation à la maison

Les renseignements suivants sont donnés à titre indicatif. Il se peut que les instructions figurant sur l'emballage de votre préparation ou celles fournies par votre professionnel de la santé diffèrent.

Préparations liquides
  • Vérifiez la date de péremption de votre préparation. Si la date est dépassée, jetez la préparation.
  • Les emballages qui n'ont pas été ouverts peuvent être conservés à la température ambiante.
  • Une fois que l'emballage d'une préparation est ouvert :
    • les briquettes, flacons ou boîtes métalliques doivent être utilisés immédiatement OU être conservés au réfrigérateur dans un contenant couvert. La préparation doit être utilisée dans les 24 heures. Si elle n'est pas utilisée dans ce délai, il faut la jeter;
    • les contenants préremplis de 1 à 1,5 L peuvent être consommés dans les 24 à 48 heures suivant la fixation du raccord perforateur d'une tubulure.
Préparations en poudre
  • Vérifiez la date de péremption de votre préparation. Si la date est dépassée, jetez la préparation.
  • Conservez les préparations en poudre dans un endroit frais et sec.
  • Voyez sur l'emballage combien de temps vous pouvez conserver la préparation en poudre après l'ouverture de l'emballage.
Questions et réponses courantes sur l'entreposage
et la manipulation des préparations

Dois-je agiter la préparation liquide avant de l'utiliser?

  • Oui. Il faut toujours agiter doucement les contenants de préparation liquide avant de les utiliser.

Dois-je réfrigérer ma préparation avant de l'ouvrir?

  • Non. Les préparations entérales sont le plus souvent conservées et utilisées à température ambiante. Si une préparation liquide n'est pas utilisée immédiatement après l'ouverture de l'emballage, il faut la conserver au réfrigérateur et la jeter après 24 heures.

L'administration d'une préparation froide dérangera-t-elle mon estomac?

  • Il est possible que les préparations froides dérangent votre estomac. Vous pouvez sortir la préparation du réfrigérateur 30 minutes plus tôt pour la laisser lentement atteindre la température ambiante avant de l'administrer.

SOYEZ MAÎTRE DE VOTRE SONDE D'ALIMENTATION :
Apprenez à utiliser votre sonde d'alimentation et à l'intégrer à votre quotidien dans cette série de vidéos en cinq parties avec Gunnar Esiason.

Nestlé Health Science a fait tout en son pouvoir pour n'inclure dans ce site Web que des renseignements qu'elle jugeait exacts et dignes de foi. Ce site contient des renseignements qui proviennent de diverses sources, notamment de ressources tirées de la pratique médicale, de lignes directrices d'organismes professionnels et de l'expérience de professionnels de la santé ayant assuré la prise en charge de patients sous alimentation entérale à domicile. Ces renseignements sont fournis à des fins éducatives. Le site ne vise pas à remplacer l'avis ou les prescriptions des professionnels de la santé ni à se substituer aux soins médicaux. Communiquez avec un professionnel de la santé qualifié si vous avez des questions concernant votre produit d'alimentation entérale, votre ordonnance ou vos fournitures, ou si vous avez des questions ou des problèmes particuliers au sujet de ce qui vous convient le mieux dans le cadre de la prise en charge de votre alimentation entérale à domicile.