Dysphagia 101

Dysphagia 101

Learn about the basics of dysphagia such as the causes, how common it is, and how swallowing difficulties can be properly managed.

Science of swallowing

Did you know that you may swallow more than 600 times per day? Swallowing is a necessary part of everyday life, and problems with this important function can have a significant impact on your health and quality of life.

How do we swallow when we eat?

The swallowing process starts at the lips and ends with foods and liquids passing into the stomach. A normal swallow happens in four stages.

  1. Oral Preparatory Phase: Food or drink is put into the mouth, and the mouth is closed. The food is chewed and mixed with saliva, becoming a small ball of food known as a “bolus.”
  2. Oral Phase: The tongue pushes the bolus of food or drink into the back of the mouth.
  3. Pharyngeal Phase: The bolus passes from the mouth through the throat and into the esophagus. The airway closes as this happens.
  4. Esophageal Phase: The bolus passes through the esophagus and into the stomach.

About dysphagia

“Dysphagia” is the medical term for swallowing difficulties. This condition is often not detected or diagnosed until it begins to cause other problems for the affected person.

What is dysphagia?

Dysphagia is defined as difficulty swallowing. It involves a variety of problems related to consuming both solid food and liquids. While dysphagia is typically more common in the elderly, it has multiple causes that can affect people of all ages. It can occur in varying degrees, from mild difficulties with swallowing certain foods or liquids, to the complete inability to swallow.

People with dysphagia might experience trouble with swallowing, eating, drinking, chewing, sucking, controlling saliva in the mouth, swallowing medication, or protecting the airway.

Dysphagia can make eating and drinking uncomfortable or unsafe and may also lead to serious health issues. Because people with this condition may not seek or receive a diagnosis or treatment immediately, dysphagia can result in eating and drinking less, placing them at higher risk of malnutrition and dehydration. Dysphagia may also lead to respiratory infections. And because dysphagia can make eating in social situations uncomfortable, it can lead to isolation and have an impact on emotional wellbeing. Therefore, it’s important that swallowing problems are diagnosed and managed appropriately.

Can dysphagia be treated or cured?

Dysphagia can vary in terms of severity, underlying cause, and duration of the condition. It may be chronic, progressive, stable or temporary depending on what is causing the swallowing difficulty. In some cases, dysphagia can be managed through changes in diet, changes in posture while swallowing, or other non-invasive methods. Dysphagia can also sometimes be rehabilitated through specific exercises targeting the head and neck muscles under supervision from a healthcare professional. In some individuals, dysphagia may be severe enough to warrant a discussion with healthcare professionals about the potential need for a feeding tube.

Your healthcare professional is the most reliable source of information for your dysphagia management plan.

How common is dysphagia?

Dysphagia is generally estimated to affect around 8% of the total population. This number can vary depending on the setting. For instance, in hospital settings, dysphagia can occur in up to 71% of patients. In long-term care homes, it may range from 55 to 68% of residents. The rate of dysphagia is higher among older adults, and it is estimated that among older adults living in the community, the dysphagia rate is between 11 and 16%.

References: 1. Kawashima K, et al. Prevalence of dysphagia among community-dwelling elderly individuals as estimated using a questionnaire for dysphagia screening. Dysphagia. 2004;19:266-271. 2. O’Donohue G, et al. Oropharyngeal dysphagia—the need for effective management. Irish Medical J. 1994;87(6):180-18. 3. Bloem B, et al. Prevalence of subjective dysphagia in community residents aged over 87. BMJ. 1990;300:721-722. 4. Cabre M, et al. Prevalence and prognostic implications of dysphagia in elderly patients with pneumonia. Age & Ageing. 2010;39:39-45. 5. Cichero J, et al. Triaging dysphagia: nurse screening for dysphagia in an acute hospital. J Clin Nursing. 2009;18:1649-1659. 6. Steele C, et al. Mealtime difficulties in a home for the aged: not just dysphagia. Dysphagia. 1997;12:45-50.

What causes dysphagia?

Dysphagia is often caused by an illness, condition or disease that affects the nerves and muscles in the tongue, mouth and throat, and leads to problems coordinating and/or controlling the swallow. The list below contains some, but not all, possible causes for dysphagia.

Neurological disorders

Stroke, dementia, neuromuscular and neurodegenerative disorders such as Alzheimer’s, ALS, Parkinson’s disease, and multiple sclerosis.

Mechanical causes

Dysphagia may have underlying mechanical causes. For example, abnormal growths or structural changes in the esophagus may cause dysphagia. In some cases, dysphagia can be caused by inflammation or chronic gastric reflux disorders.

Head and neck conditions, including cancer

Head and spinal cord injuries, as well as some head and neck cancers may cause dysphagia. Some people who are undergoing radiation therapy for head and neck cancer may also develop dysphagia.

Age and dysphagia

Causes of dysphagia may also be different for people of different age groups. Children may experience dysphagia if they have cerebral palsy or developmental disabilities. In older adults, swallowing problems may be caused by other issues, such as dry mouth, weakness and general frailty, including changes to nerve and muscle function with age.

Nestlé Health Science has made every effort to include on this website only information that it believes to be accurate and reliable. Information provided on this site is for education purposes. It is not intended to replace the advice or instruction of your healthcare professionals, or to substitute medical care. Contact a qualified healthcare professional if you have questions or issues about what is best for you as you manage your swallowing difficulties at home.




TM Owner: Société des Produits Nestlé S.A., Vevey, Switzerland. ©2017 Nestlé. All rights reserved.

Dysphagia 101

Learn about the basics of dysphagia such as the causes, how common it is, and how swallowing difficulties can be properly managed.

Science de la déglutition

Saviez-vous que vous pouvez faire plus de 600 mouvements de déglutition par jour? La déglutition est un mécanisme nécessaire au maintien de la vie, et les problèmes associés à cette fonction déterminante peuvent avoir d’importantes répercussions sur votre santé et votre qualité de vie.

Comment pouvons-nous avaler en mangeant?

Le processus de déglutition commence lorsque les aliments et les liquides traversent les lèvres et prend fin lorsqu’ils arrivent dans l’estomac. Un processus normal de déglutition comporte quatre étapes.

  1. Phase orale préparatoire: Un aliment ou une boisson entre dans la bouche et celle-ci se ferme. L’aliment est mâché et mélangé à la salive et devient alors une petite boule qu’on appelle «bol alimentaire».
  2. Phase orale: La langue pousse le bol alimentaire dans le fond de la bouche.
  3. Phase pharyngée: Le bol alimentaire passe de la bouche à la gorge, puis descend dans l’oesophage. Les voies respiratoires se ferment pendant cette phase.
  4. Phase oesophagienne: Le bol alimentaire traverse l’oesophage et se rend dans l’estomac.

Au sujet de la dysphagie

La «dysphagie» est le terme médical pour décrire les troubles de la déglutition. Cette affection est rarement détectée ou diagnostiquée avant qu’elle commence à causer d’autres problèmes.

Qu’est-ce que la dysphagie?

La dysphagie est définie comme une difficulté à déglutir. Elle comprend divers problèmes liés à la consommation d’aliments solides et de liquides. Bien qu’elle soit généralement plus courante chez les personnes âgées, la dysphagie est associée à de multiples causes qui peuvent toucher des personnes de tout âge. Elle peut se manifester selon divers degrés, d’une légère difficulté à avaler certains aliments ou liquides à une incapacité totale à avaler.

Les personnes atteintes de dysphagie peuvent avoir du mal à avaler, à manger, à boire, à mâcher, à sucer, à contrôler leur salive, à prendre des médicaments ou à protéger les voies respiratoires.

L’absorption d’aliments et de liquides est désagréable ou dangereuse pour les personnes concernées, mais la dysphagie peut également provoquer de graves problèmes de santé. Puisqu’il est possible que les personnes souffrant de cette affection ne consultent pas de médecin ou ne reçoivent aucun diagnostic ou traitement immédiat, il est possible qu’elles mangent et boivent moins, ce qui les expose à un risque accru de malnutrition et de déshydratation. La dysphagie peut également provoquer des infections des voies respiratoires. De plus, parce que les personnes atteintes de dysphagie peuvent se sentir mal à l’aise de manger en public, cette affection peut mener à l’isolement et avoir des répercussions sur le bien-être émotionnel. Par conséquent, il est important que les problèmes de déglutition soient diagnostiqués et traités de manière appropriée.

Est-il possible de traiter ou de guérir la dysphagie?

La dysphagie peut varier selon la gravité, la cause sous-jacente et la durée de l’affection. Elle peut être chronique, progressive, stable ou temporaire selon la cause de la difficulté à avaler. Dans certains cas, la dysphagie peut être gérée par des changements alimentaires, des changements de posture pendant la déglutition ou d’autres méthodes non effractives. La dysphagie peut également parfois être traitée par des exercices des muscles de la tête et du cou réalisés sous la supervision d’un professionnel de la santé. Dans certains cas, la dysphagie peut être suffisamment grave pour justifier une discussion avec des professionnels de la santé sur le besoin éventuel d’une alimentation entérale.

Votre professionnel de la santé est la source d’information la plus fiable pour établir un plan de prise en charge de la dysphagie.

Quelle est la fréquence de la dysphagie?

On estime en général que la dysphagie touche environ 8 % de la population totale. Ce chiffre peut varier selon les établissements. Par exemple, en milieu hospitalier, la dysphagie peut toucher jusqu’à 71 % des patients, alors que, dans les maisons de soins de longue durée, la maladie peut toucher de 55 à 68 % des résidents. Le taux de dysphagie est plus élevé chez les personnes âgées; on estime qu’il varie de 11 à 16 % chez les personnes âgées vivant dans la collectivité.

Références: 1. Kawashima, K. et coll. Prevalence of dysphagia among community-dwelling elderly individuals as estimated using a questionnaire for dysphagia screening. Dysphagia. 2004;19:266-271. 2. O’Donohue, G. et coll. Oropharyngeal dysphagia—the need for effective management. Irish Medical J. 1994;87(6):180-18. 3. Bloem, B. et coll. Prevalence of subjective dysphagia in community residents aged over 87. BMJ. 1990;300:721-722. 4. Cabre, M. et coll. Prevalence and prognostic implications of dysphagia in elderly patients with pneumonia. Age & Ageing. 2010;39:39-45. 5. Cichero, J. et coll. Triaging dysphagia: nurse screening for dysphagia in an acute hospital. J Clin Nursing. 2009;18:1649-1659. 6. Steele, C. et coll. Mealtime difficulties in a home for the aged: not just dysphagia. Dysphagia. 1997;12:45-50.

Quelles sont les causes de la dysphagie?

La dysphagie est souvent causée par une maladie qui touche les nerfs et les muscles de la langue, de la bouche et de la gorge et qui entraîne des problèmes de coordination ou de maîtrise de la déglutition. La liste ci-dessous énumère certaines causes possibles de la dysphagie.

Troubles neurologiques

AVC, démence et troubles neuromusculaires et neurodégénératifs comme l’Alzheimer, la sclérose latérale amyotrophique, la maladie de Parkinson et la sclérose en plaques.

Causes mécaniques

La dysphagie peut être attribuable à des causes mécaniques sous-jacentes. Par exemple, une croissance anormale ou un changement dans la structure de l’oesophage peut causer la dysphagie. Dans certains cas, la dysphagie peut être causée par l’inflammation ou le reflux gastrique chronique.

Maladies de la tête et du cou, y compris le cancer

Des lésions à la tête et à la moelle épinière ainsi que certains cancers de la tête et du cou peuvent causer la dysphagie. Une dysphagie peut également se manifester chez certaines personnes recevant une radiothérapie pour traiter un cancer de la tête et du cou.

Âge et dysphagie

Les causes de la dysphagie peuvent aussi différer selon les personnes de différents groupes d’âge. Les enfants atteints de paralysie cérébrale ou d’un trouble du développement peuvent être atteints de dysphagie. Chez les adultes plus âgés, les troubles de la déglutition peuvent être causés par d’autres problèmes comme la sécheresse de la bouche, une faiblesse ou un état de fragilité générale, y compris des changements touchant les nerfs et la fonction musculaire qui surviennent avec l’âge.

Nestlé Health Science a fait tout en son pouvoir pour n’inclure dans ce site Web que des renseignements qu’elle jugeait exacts et dignes de foi. Ces renseignements sont fournis à des fins éducatives. Le site ne vise pas à remplacer l’avis ou les prescriptions des professionnels de la santé ni à se substituer aux soins médicaux. Communiquez avec un professionnel de la santé qualifié si vous avez des questions ou des problèmes au sujet de ce qui vous convient le mieux dans le cadre de la gestion de la dysphagie à la maison.




Prop. des marques: Société des Produits Nestlé S.A., Vevey, Suisse. © 2017 Nestlé. Tous droits réservés.